We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay Every Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brass Lantern B & B
Ranked #20 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have stayed at Brass Lantern several times and every time it is simply wonderful. We love the space, the amenities, the view and the comfort. Our family enjoy the two levels of this B&B, with the bedrooms located on the lower level and the living room/kitchen upstairs, it allows those who want to stay up later to have their own space while those who choose to go to bed earlier can do so. The private deck on the upper level is great! You can relax with a glass a wine in the evening or sip your morning coffee while enjoying the views of Resurrection Bay. Maueen the host is very friendly and accommodating, yet gives you your privacy for your stay. She has thought of everything that you need while staying here. It is always very clean and welcoming. It truely is a home-away from home. We recommend the Brass Lantern all the time to our friends, family and those traveling to Seward, it is a great B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskalivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I were very disappointed the attitude of the owner. Not friendly or helpfull at all. She ruined our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This B&B is fantastic. Everything was there that we needed as promised. The views from the balcony were amazing overlooking the mountains. The owner left us a welcome basket - yum! It was extremely clean tidy and had everything we needed. Great place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Clean, quiet, and pleasant B&B. The apartment is very large: there is a bedroom (with a queen bed), a hallway bedroom (with a single bed), a large living room, a full kitchen, and a nice bathroom (shower, no bathtub). The beds are very comfy and we slept very well there. For our stay, kitchen came stocked with breakfast food, lots of fresh fruit, and fresh-baked cookies (a nice touch!). Overall a great place to stay in Seward and a much better value than the hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Owl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The location was great, walked to Sea Life Center and downtown. The hostess was great. I liked the fact that we were left on our own--- they don't cook breakfast but there was more than enough food for us to make breakfast, and something for lunch before we left. Very clean and comfortable with the living room. Nice hot shower and lots of extra-clean towels. GREAT place for 2 people or couple with small kids. Only drawback was the bathroom being upstairs and the main door entered into the room w/ 2 single beds. But that was easily overlooked when comparing prices. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay this place is very nice. Not a traditional B/B in the sense that your hosts prepare your meals and you dine with others, its more for those who want your privacy and a place to relax on a trip. it is basically a condo with all the amenities of a normal home. The hosts do stock the fridge with eggs,juice,bread etc... It has a fully stocked kitchen, we were able to cook our own meals when we wanted to. Its a smaller unit but we found it very comfortable and will definitely use it again. two bedrooms downstairs. Great deck overlooking the bay. VERY CLEAN!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This B&B worked perfectly for us. Its location close to downtown and the small boat harbor made it convenient for a very early boat charter. It has its own private entrance as well. Maureen had the kitchen well stocked with breakfast items perfect for a quick get away in the AM, including some delicious home made bars. The fully supplied kitchen was perfect to make our own meals after returning tired from a long day on the water. Beware the bedrooms are downstairs and bathroom/ living room/ kitchen area is upstairs, which is difficult for aging joints.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#6 of 45 in Seward
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern B & B

Address: 331 2nd Ave., Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: £141 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home describes our cottage-style bed & breakfast. Featuring a private apartment with a patio entrance & deck. Two cozy bedrooms, kitchen, bath, comfortable sitting area. A hearty continental breakfast is served in-suite. This unit is not shared with others and has views of the Chugach Mountains & Resurrection Bay. Close to shopping, dining, fishing, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brass Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern B & B Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing