We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey, Lovely and Peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brass Lantern B & B
Ranked #20 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Brass Lantern in Seward, AK. The hosts were very friendly and helpful but at the same time left us alone unless we needed something. It was very clean, cheery, and comfy. The continental breakfast that was provided was fit for a king! We loved it and would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our family of three stayed there before our Celebrity Cruise and had a wonderful stay. Seperate bedroom for my wife's mom made it nice as did being the only ones in the home. The continental breakfast was nice and fit our needs. Maureen, the owner, was there to greet us and give us dinner ideas...Lovely area all around, walk to town and pier.

Room Tip: only one family at a time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Brass Lantern B&B in Seward the end of June for three nights. The accommodations were very nice with Maureen thinking of every possible item a guest would need or want. We were thankful to be able to spread out and enjoy the freedom of cooking, if we chose.

Maureen did provide breakfast makings which she gave to us upon arrival. Her raspberry bars were delicious.

My favorite part was to sit outside on the deck and view the mountains and glaciers. Being up late, and visiting during a time when daylight was almost 24 hours, was wonderful in viewing the changes in the mountains during nighttime.

Although the B&B provided all our needs and was in a wonderful location, we were disappointed we did not see Maureen again during our stay. We know it was Solstice weekend and her and her husband were busy with activities in Moose's Landing (and so we chalked it up to that reason) but we were disappointed, even the day we left, Monday, she made no attempt to talk with us again.

We travel exclusively to B&B's and enjoy the various accommodations and experiences you can have socializing with owners and guests. Thus, we were disappointed in this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADREAMCOMETRUEGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a very nice place. the accommodation is very clean and cozy, with very good view from the room. The host is very nice and prepared lots of stuff as breakfast. We have one 5 year old kid travelling with us. He is so happy as he finally find a place so that he can play with the toys he brought. Nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 182Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The location is great! Accommodations are comfortable and spacious. Just need to bring your clothes and toiletries...everything else is provided. Great touch with fresh baked goods. Everything is clean and organized. Owner's respect your privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Brass Lantern B & B is a must-return-to place! The accommodations were perfectly clean, with details such as coffee filters, freshly baked cake, dish supplies and even various toiletries. Maureen, our host, was pleasant helpful and was the perfect host. The location is just blocks away from everything in Seward. The streets were quiet and we felt part of the community in this location vs. being in a generic hotel setting. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the rooms were tastefully decorated. There was a great supply of reading material and games. I can't think if one other thing we needed while staying at the Brass Lantern B & B. We highly recommend it and can't wait to get back there once again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

You couldn't ask a better location in Seward, Alaska! Maureen Lemme could give lessons in how to make your visit great! She provides the most delicious array of breakfast goodies you could want, and often, when returning in the afternoon there would be fresh gingerbread, cookies or banana bread awaiting us! The Brass Lantern in just a couple minutes walk from the Sea Life Center, shops and great restaurants. However, should you be fishermen, there is a nice grill available for cooking your catch! Lovely decks and great views.

Room Tip: Beds comfortable and a wonderful shower!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmel46032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern B & B

Address: 331 2nd Ave., Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: £139 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home describes our cottage-style bed & breakfast. Featuring a private apartment with a patio entrance & deck. Two cozy bedrooms, kitchen, bath, comfortable sitting area. A hearty continental breakfast is served in-suite. This unit is not shared with others and has views of the Chugach Mountains & Resurrection Bay. Close to shopping, dining, fishing, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brass Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern B & B Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing