We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seward(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Motel(Seward)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sauerdough Lodging(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor 360 Hotel(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
233
32
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
32
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenai lakepaddle boatsfire pitlake viewmoose passgreat rv parklife jacketscooper landingrv sitescooking utensilsfree kayakspiece of heavenbeautiful place to stayinternet accesslaundry facilitystayed nightswonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Highly recommend this place! Stayed for 2 nights in August and really enjoyed the peaceful lake and location. Gary was very nice and made sure we didn't have any questions that he could help out with. Thought it was a nice touch to have menus of local restaurants in the cabin. It was our first time in Seward and will go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the review! I am glad you enjoyed the peaceful lake and the amenities such as the binder full of menus and local hiking trails. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Gary is amazing host. We will be coming back, the lake view is beautiful from the table and the upstairs loft, what a view to wake up to each morning. Cabins are clean, well stocked, just bring your own food. Thank you Gary for an amazing week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

I am glad to hear that you will return and you enjoyed the week! I have to agree with you that the view both upstairs and downstairs is the best! Thank you for noticing how clean the cabin was. We do our very best to keep them as clean as possible. Your welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A great getaway that is comfortable and convenient yet peaceful and serene. The cabins are clean, well-kept, and spacious. The beds are very comfortable. And the lake view is amazing! Gary was a great host. We appreciated him calling us to make sure we had arrangements before closing the office. The binder of local hiking trails was also a very helpful. Perfect place to stay for the Lost Lake run. We hope to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

What a fantastic description of the Retreat - comfortable, convenient, peaceful, serene, clean, well-kept and spacious. It sounds like you were able to put the hiking binder to use and find some additional trails to explore. It is the perfect location for the Lost Lake Run and I look forward to hosting you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We highly recommend Gary's place: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat.....it is clean, has a well equipped kitchen with a stove and the lakeside cabins offer a great lake view. Gary is knowledgeable about the area and provided good suggestions for activities, places to eat, and what to see....we highly recommend the Kenai Fjords tour out of Seward....Gary gave us great advise on this tour.

The cabins are comfortable and cute! The setting is special and the views from the picture windows and porch are ones to remember and a fire pit completes the experience after you've prepared your meal on your own personal grill on the deck. This is a place to spend more than one or two nights and you are close to Seward ....but will have quiet and peaceful evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

I believe you have captured it all - clean, well equipped, great view of the lake, quite and peaceful. Those are just a few words to describe the Retreat! I am honored that you would recommend us to others and want to stay more than one night next time. Thanks for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were very pleased with our stay and host at Renfro's and would stay there again. All of our needs were covered and it was a lovely hideaway there on beautiful Kenai Lake. The paddle boat was great fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Your feedback is important to us! I am glad you had a great stay and all of your needs were covered. It is a hidden gem, but more and more people are finding out about it because of our great guests! As always, the peddle boats are a huge hit for our guests! Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews