We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RV camping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Radford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“RV camping”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Highly recommend this RV campground, rustic with amenities. Very personable and accommodating staff. Nice, clean restrooms, shower- and they're free, which is not always the case in Alaska. Laundry room. Beautiful lake with paddle boats and canoes available (again free). The Alaskan Train runs through the campground which is entertaining. Cabins and tent sites available if I remember correctly. The owner walked to our RV and pointed out bear on a scenic mountain side within view of our RV.

Room Tip: Cabins are more private than the RV sites, but no complaints here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for the great review of the R.V. Park and the Retreat itself! I am pleased that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer our guests, everything from peddle boats (no canoes however) to hot showers that are free! Our R.V. Park (no tent sites) is a great place to unwind, kick back in your outdoor chair and watch the wildlife on the mountainside. It is great to be able to point out the animals that find their home in this area from bear, goats, birds, lynx, wolf and coyotes. Not to mention our snowshoe hares on the property! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
112
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend here and were amazed by everything! The location is beautiful, right on the lake and a quick drive into Seward and close by to some great hiking trails. The cabins are very clean and stocked with everything that we needed including a BBQ and a fire ring right outside the cabin.

Gary was a pleasure to deal with and he had everything taken care of and waiting for us when we arrived.

We will definitely be back again and we will be recommending Renfro's to our friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review. It was good to hear you enjoyed your anniversary at the Retreat! We are right in the middle of some of the most beautiful hiking trails in the area and the view off your front porch is not bad either! Thank you for letting us know we are exceeding the expectations of our guests and recommending the Retreat to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was long overdue, visited Renfros retreat back in July...

Great place if you need a quiet place to cool down, along the lake!
Gary is amazing, in his own funny way :-)
He takes great care of you...you'll just about find everything you need in his cabins...
He made firewood available ($6 i guess) which proved to be a great addition to our experience!
Also, cabins 1-5 are lakeside...

Couple of things - No cell phone coverage, no internet in the cabins..and nearest place to eat (hotel/restaurant) is Seward, about 20 mi I guess. But as I said, great place to disconnect from the fast paced life, and just relax!!

Room Tip: Also, cabins 1-5 are lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sathellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Retreat! As you stated, it is a great place to unwind, forget about your worries and relax. To assist with that, there are no t.v.'s, no cell service and only limited internet service in the common areas. It sounds perfect to be able to disconnect and relax! Your insight is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This really is an idyllic base for a holiday on the Kenai Peninsula. The view of the mountain and lake from our cabin was breathtaking and the firepit in front of our cabin enabled us to have several great campfires. The cabin itself was clean and warm with all the basics you could need. The hot shower was effective and the beds were very comfortable, kitchen necessities were well stocked. The table was laid up nicely to greet us with a book for people to leave comments which was a really nice touch. There are also laundry facilities, a playground and pedaloes:o) There are plenty of hiking trails nearby and Seward is about a 30 minute drive from here with a supermarket, bars, restaurants etc. Moose Pass is also close by with a post office. We were made really welcome by Gary and would definitely love to go back here.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying a bit more to have a lakeside cabin with the views of the lake and mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capnemmerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
What a fantastic review! You listed so many adjectives to describe your stay - breathtaking, clean, warm, and comfortable. I am happy you enjoyed the journal. They are a hit in the cabins and some of the stories make you laugh out loud. It sounds like you filled your days with hiking, enjoying the peddle boats and a few other activities. I am glad you found the Retreat convenient for shopping, the post office and restaurants. Thank you again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It might be a nice place but please consider their cancellation policy carefully before booking. We had severe problems with our car so we couldn't arrive on time for our reservation. The car's engine broke down. There are several people who can confirm this (Hertz Car Rental, the Whitehorse Ford Dealer and the nice lady at the Bed & Breakfast in Whitehorse) and a informed Renfro immediately. I'm very disappointed that nevertheless they charged me the full booking amount of 2 nights plus tax which is more than 200 bucks for not-staying here.
Fortunately we didn't reserve for more nights. Elsewhere we could cancel for free. Usually at other places they charge only one night if your cancellation is to short, but this policy here is just greedy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our cancellation policy. It sounds as if you are upset with my cancellation policy based on a situation that occurred with a rental car company. You agreed to the cancellation policy when you booked the original reservation on 8/21/13 and again when you received the confirmation e-mail. Your reservation was for two nights beginning 9/22/13 and you informed me via e-mail on 9/21/13 at 10:39 am that you would not make it and was in Whitehorse, Canada some 14 hour drive away. I gave you a couple of different options via e-mail - 1) move the reservation out to different dates in the future with no charges to you and or 2) I would try to re-book your reservation with another guest. You never returned my e-mail until I followed up with you again on 9/23/13 after your initial arrival date. As I stated in my e-mail, I was sympathetic to your predicament and offered you alternatives just as I assume the car rental company did. My cancellation policy is standard for a small business such as mine and generous when it comes to options. You have reminded us all to ensure we read the requirements of a reservation as they protect both the guest and the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have lived in AK for only 8 months and this was our first trip to start exploring this beautiful state. We went to Seward to do the Kenai Fjord cruise and stayed in cabin #2. It was awesome. Away from the hustle and bustle, quick drive to downtown Seward. My son, who is a gamer and addicted to the computer/internet/ tv had a great time just doing family things. He loved the cabin and the lake so much he didn't mind leaving technology behind for a weekend. He says he wants to stay in the same cabin everytime we come down in the future. So we will be seeing you!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joniumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Welcome to Alaska! I am glad you and your son had a great time. It is good to hear that he appreciates the beauty around him and not only technology. Hopefully this will give him another opportunity to express himself. I will welcome your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent a weekend here over labor day. What a nice, secluded cabin to get away in and just spend time with my husband. We used the grill every night and made a fire in the fire pit for s'mores and hot chocolate. Just great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaMA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Labor Day - the last true summer get-a-way for most people and what a better way than to enjoy it with a loved one! The amenities such as the fire pit and charcoal grill are always a hit with the guests. I am thankful you took the time to write a review of the Retreat! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seward
17.8 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
559 reviews
16.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,040 reviews
17.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
91 reviews
14.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
20.3 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Property: Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Address: 27177 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Renfro's Lakeside Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Kenai Mountains, Renfro's Lakeside Retreat is located on emerald green Kenai Lake. Renfro's offers 8 cabins, five of which are located on the lake and the other three are located within 100 yards of the lake in the spruce trees. In addition to the cabins, we offer 10 R.V. Sites with both full and partial hook-ups. Renfro's offers spectacular views of huge snow capped mountains and a 30-mile long lake. This pristine retreat has the feel of true wilderness and yet is located 20 miles from Seward. This means you are situated within driving distance of the things people want to see or experience while in Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing