We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and poorly equipped, but nice location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Well Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abode Well Cabins
Ranked #3 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty and poorly equipped, but nice location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It never makes me happy to write a negative review – I’d much rather share only good news. However, part of what makes Trip Advisor so useful is the honest reviews travelers share. It helps us all make better choices on where to stay, etc., and I think it helps the vendors know what makes people happy too.

So here’s a little about our recent two night stay at the Abode Well cabins in Seward. We had the two-bedroom family cabin, shared by two couples. It’s tucked in the woods near several smaller cabins for couples, and the location was nice and quiet, with a great outdoor fire pit. Sadly, the condition of the cabin was not good. We live in Alaska and have stayed in cabins all over the state, so we know what to expect. Rustic is no problem – it’s why we leave town in the first place. However, cleanliness is a big deal to us, and unfortunately, the cabin was filthy. There is just no other word for it. The floor was crunchy to walk on. A good sweeping would have taken care of it, but there was no broom. The futon in the living room was covered in dirt and gravel. The shower floor was slimy and there was black mildew growing in the corners. The kitchen counters were grimy. We were entertaining visitors from out of state, and I felt really bad that I brought them somewhere I hadn’t stayed before. FYI, we did bring the cleanliness issue to the attention of the caretaker after our first night there, and by later in the day it did seem they dusted the futon, but the floor and shower were still dirty. We had already cleaned the counters ourselves.

In addition to a thorough cleaning, the cabin could use some updating; for example, the futon pad was very worn out and not at all comfortable to sit on. There were only two chairs for the kitchen table – but it’s marketed as a family cabin. And I guess a lot of dishes have walked away over the years since there were only 3 drinking glasses to be found. Since it was advertised as “fully equipped” we didn’t think to bring dishes.

Oh well, maybe the smaller cabins are nicer or maybe we caught them on a bad weekend. Hopefully they’ll spruce things up a bit in the future. We’ll be curious to see what other people experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Earlybird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a wonderful bargain. The cabins were clean and tidy! The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They were full for families but made special accomodations for our family. They are the owners of The Idiaride experience and gave us a 10 percent discount on the experience which was great fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihdagryhnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Comfortable, clean, cozy, and warm especially since I had cool mornings. It had a small refrigerator, tea and coffee pot, and a comfortable bed. A microwave was available just a few steps away from the cabin, in the laundry / office building. Being able to drive up to the cabin made it easy to unload luggage, etc. …. Since it was close to the cabins, I was worried about the noise coming from the dog kennel. However, although I could hear the barking in the background, it was short lived and wasn’t bothersome. I think they became excited at feeding times! It didn’t cause any disruption to my sleep. The Seavey’s built a huge retaining wall between the cabins and the kennel which drowned out the barking some. ... Great location! Just a few miles from Exit Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatParkTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here one night and were pleased. It is close to Exit Glacier, close to restaurants, and close to the harbor. The cabin was clean and the bed was comfortable. The cabins have a good amount of room and trees between them, so you feel like you have some privacy.

Internet access and a microwave in the room would be nice additions, but were not crucial. Room darkening shades/curtains and a less intense air freshener would make sleeping easier.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is right next to the office, so you can pick up the wi-fi available in the office from this...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prettyflowerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a nice four night stay here but would highly recommend the owners invest in some TV's for the rooms for rainy days and for weather updates, since cell service was spotty for us. We had a wonderful experience with the Seavey's sled ride and seeing the puppies on the tour. It was a learning experience I'll not soon forget! Highly recommend to anyone coming to the area!

Room Tip: Make sure you drive down the road until you see the "Abode Well Cabins" sign...otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We recently spent two nights at Cabin #4. The fast talking guy at check in told us to turn left out of the lot and take the second left - don't do that - and we had to back out of a dangerous road. After taking the third left, we found our lovely little cabin. The rollaway bed was perfect for my ten year old and we so enjoyed our stay.

One listing says this has 'every amenity' but you should be sure to bring toiletries (a small bar of soap is provided) and know they provide a coffee pot with enough for one pot of coffee, with two cups (bring more if you have more staying). We had nothing to stir the coffee with, although I left a note for housekeeping to please supply something (as well as more towels - if you like a towel for your head and another for your body, you'll run out) and they did so. A guest book entry in the cabin also complained about the lack of coffee stirrers, so I am guessing it's a frequent issue. Just bring your own. Also, if you have any scent sensitivites, note that they put heavy plug in air freshners in the cabin - in a small, closed in space, it can be overwhelming. We unplugged it and put it outside during our stay.

My greatest suggestion for improvement would be for them to supply a luggage rack for suitcases. I know it's a cabin and not a fancy hotel room, but the small table and chairs and full and rollaway bed take up enough space that it would be nice to not have to put suitcases down on the floor in the way.

The roads are rough and the dogs in the nearby kennel do bark a lot, but the setting and puppies are worth it. It was an affordable, delightful place to stay and close to both town and Exit Glacier.

We never saw a bear, but did see moose and snowshoe hares.

Room Tip: Bring toiletries, extra cups, and coffee/tea supplies of your own. If you waken easily, ask to be fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcatprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights for the start of our 10 night road trip and just can't think of a more fun way to start the trip! The cabins are small, but cozy, super clean and surrounded by tall old pine trees. We had rain while we were there and it made it just that more enjoyable for some reason. While there everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. The cabins are rustic in that there is no TV (ha ha), but who needs TV in Alaska! Everywhere we went we were too busy saying OMG look at that! By the time we got in the cabin all we wanted to do was crash!

We did the dog sled tour and enjoyed seeing all the dogs get so excited in hopes that it would be their turn to pull a sled. Don't miss the Exit Glacier hike - it was just a great little hike up to the glacier. The date signs along the road on your way up there are a sad reminder of how far the glacier has receded over the last 50 years.

Also visited Seward and did a small boat wildlife tour - awesome! Saw so many whales it was ridiculous, Loved the town, loved the beautiful drive from Anchorage to Seward and especially loved our stay at the Abode Well cabins! I hope we get back again some day soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My4doggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Well Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Well Cabins

Property: Abode Well Cabins
Address: 12672 Old Exit Glacier Rd., Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abode Well Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Alaskan wilderness in comfort and style! Our cabins offer every amenity in a rain forest setting just five minutes from Seward. Watch for wildlife from the porch of your cabin. Enjoy a steak on the grill, cook s'mores around the campfire in the evening, store your fish in our guest freezer, and wash your clothes in our free laundry facilities. Choose between our Couples Cabins, or for larger groups our Family Cabin is perfect. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abode Well Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing