We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very reasonable rates and a cozy kitchen as well”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging
Ranked #21 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very reasonable rates and a cozy kitchen as well”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Moby Dick Hostel is in a very convenient location near the strip in Seward. We had a small and basic room on the ground floor of a home in the 300 block of 3rd Avenue, a couple blocks away from the office. The communal kitchen had just a few fry pans and saucepans but it was still much more useful than a hotel. Furthermore, we were not sharing with more than 4-5 other guests so it was not very crowded. The bathroom was very basic but it had some thin towels and hot water, which is critical in that climate.

Upon arriving at the office the first time (about 10AM, too early to checkin), we discovered that the prior guest moved into a dorm bed above the office location but he failed to return the key to our room so we made some arrangement to get the key which did not work and I returned to the office at 5 or 6PM. Naturally, the key was left in the door at the other property. This is to say that there is not an excellent system at Moby Dick but it works just fine and this is Seward we are talking about ;)

I would recommend this place for couples, families, and friends. Solo travelers should look for reviews about dorm beds above the office (the "annex"?) Overall, it's really good value for money.

Room Tip: We never saw the private room(s) on the 2nd floor, but they might have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Says it all. Room in annex has 5 pallets that squeak a bit, but are very firm and a welcome respite.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_Turtle_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hostel located in a convinience location. Walking to restaurants ,shops and sea life center. we stayed here for two days in the private room. The private room view is nice and can see the bay from the distance. The room itself has 1 queen size bed and one bunk bed on top of it. The mattress and blanket is a bit old.

There are some drawback. During the time that we stay, the bathroom was not quite clean. There are mold on the ceiling which should be taken care of. The kitchen is cute but pretty small. During our stay, it was not clean. The trash was full during those two days. We stayed at 3 hostels during our trip and so far this one is not one of the best.

The service is ok. The staff is friendly. Not much room for parking, however you can park the car along the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fahja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The people who checked us in were friendly and helpful, and gave us a good restaurant recommendation and a room upgrade since our room was not ready. Our room was clean, very quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. We shared a bathroom with only one other room, which was empty at the time. The location was great, right in the heart of downtown. They also had a little "store" which saved us from having to go out for breakfast. Everything was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Our suite was very quite. It was a private room with kitchenette and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim45345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a very nice overnight here with two adults and one child. The facility was clean and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place if you are used to the hostel life!
There was parking on premise and it was close enough to walk into town. The playground was also within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleashag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtleford, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I found Moby Dick very easy to find. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Close to the center of town and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huskygirl3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here with my wife and her brother during our trip to Alaska and enjoyed our stay. This isn't a Ritz Hotel, but Moby Dick offers excellent value lodging in Seward. The rooms were clean and the kitchen facilities were adequate for preparing our meals.The proprietors live on site, were friendly and very helpful in helping us arrange a sightseeing cruise and getting us acquainted with Seward. We'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BilikinHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.3 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alaskan Wish Lodging
Alaskan Wish Lodging
#18 of 46 in Seward
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit View Lodge
Summit View Lodge
#13 of 14 in Seward
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging

Property: Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging
Address: 432 Third Avenue, P.O. Box 624, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in downtown Seward, Alaska and offer the following types of accommodation:- Lodging Rooms, with a full and a twin size beds, kitchenette, shared bathroom- Hostel Private/Family Room, with a queen size bed, some with additional bunk bed, shared kitchen and shared bathroom- Hostel - Dormitory style accommodation, shared kitchen, shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Hostel & Lodging Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing