We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”
Review of Taroka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taroka Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The property itself is a little old and in need of renovation but it had a full kitchen and was very comfortable. And James the owner was super friendly and helpful. I had a cold that came on very quickly while we were there and James made sure that I had everything I needed. He actually reminded us of the restaurant owner from Happy Days the TV show.
.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at at the Taroka Inn for a couple nights while in Seward. The owner was super friendly and very helpful. It's markedly cheaper than the places up by the boat harbor, which ended up being nice and allowed to walk the block over to downtown and have a night out and meet people. The trade off for the low price is it's not modern by any stretch of the imagination, so if you're someone who has to stay in modern and spick and span clean hotel (this isn't to say the Taroka Inn wasn't clean as it was), then you'll need to pay quite a bit more and stay up near the harbor (which is really the only benefit of staying up there, but it's maybe a mile from downtown to the boat docks, so this isn't inconvenient at all). My wife and I aren't that type of traveler, so the Taroka Inn was perfectly adequate for our stay in Seward.

If you're looking to not spend a lot on accommodations in Seward (it's so beautiful that hopefully you're getting out and seeing the sites!), this is a pretty good place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This may not look like much from the outside, but it was clean, had a kitchen, and had a cheerful manager. Compared to the price of the other places to stay in town, this was a pretty good value. The kitchen was helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very friendly host. Reasonable value. Great location.

Unfortunately the rest of the place just isn't up to par. In need of major renovations. An OK option if everything else is booked, wouldn't relish staying here again though. Stayed for 4 nights before picking up a cruise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MP282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Taroka Inn is hard to evaluate - which is why we stayed there. We arrived to overgrown grass and a very messy reception. Our host had no front teeth, but was so friendly and helpful, full of smiles and welcome. Our room consisted of a bedroom, kitchen, lounge room - that had another queen size bed in it. It was the sort of place that you felt like you should wear flip flops in the shower, because of a feeling is disrepair, yet the place was clean enough. Looking out the back door of our small apartment the enclosed verandah was rotting away, but the place had everything we needed and was extremely central to everything in Seward and a great price. We stayed for 2 nights and would probably stay there again. If you are looking for something upmarket then don't stay here, but this definitely added to our memories of Seward. Later on we were in Talkeetna speaking with some people from Seward and it took them a while to even recognise the Taroka Inn as it appears the locals do not use this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShineSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I researched about every lodging option in Seward as I was trying to find something family friendly so the two kids could stay with us as well, and this was the only reasonable option. As the rooms also come with a kitchen, you can save significant money by grocery shopping. I really enjoyed interacting with the owner, James. He was so kind and very helpful. After our fishing ventures, he offered to let us use his vacuum sealer so we could pack our fish to take home with us on the flight; this alone saved us a significant amount than if we would have had the Seward-based companies pack and ship. The rooms are decent, so buyer beware if you are picky. I don't want to mislead anyone by thinking the rooms are in gorgeous shape, they are not...they are older and the furnishings are as well. The beds were comfortable and the spaces were clean, although I did notice a bit of mold on the bathroom ceiling. The Inn is one block from a laundromat and about three blocks from the water and many restaurants and shops. You have no views and do not feel like you are in any sort of luxury, but I would definitely stay here again because of the nightly rate for 4 people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Taroka Inn with a couple of friends for a night when we were passing through Seward. I've definitely stayed in nicer places, but the Taroka Inn met all of our needs just fine. It is a little bit older and definitely has some noticeable wear and tear throughout, but the rooms themselves were fine. Don’t expect to walk into a 5 star hotel, and you won’t be disappointed, but it was definitely a good value nonetheless.

I will absolutely echo the other reviews by saying that the owner is a true delight. When we arrived a couple hours prior to the check in time, he had absolutely no trouble accommodating us. He was very friendly and welcoming, and offered to give us advice about things to do in the area if we needed it. He even gave us a free upgrade to the biggest room on the property. The room had three separate bedrooms with three good sized beds so we all got our own room and our own bed within the larger room itself, which was nice after having travelled quite a long way to get to Alaska. The room had a very spacious full kitchen and living area, although we unfortunately didn't have the time to utilize them. The free wi-fi was also very much appreciated. The rooms were very basic, but that was just fine with us. It was very clean, and the inside definitely looks better than the outside so don't judge a book by its cover.

It is a very short walk to the downtown Seward area, which was very convenient. Since Seward is such a small town, accommodations tend to be pretty expensive, but the Taroka Inn was reasonably priced and we were very satisfied with our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
809 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taroka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taroka Inn

Address: 233 3rd Avenue, PO Box 2448, Seward, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £112 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Taroka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taroka Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing