We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to make beautiful memories!”
other travellers have booked this property
Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck
A Cottage on the Bay View looking East at low tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Deck
A Cottage on the Bay
View looking East at low tide
View looking north toward Seward
Looking out the door...yes, you may bring your dog :-)
kitchen/dining room
Twin room
2nd floor common area
King room
Buster & Bentley
Madeleine and her 1st silver salmon
View from the Penthouse on a fog day. The tide is out quite far!
Window detail
Immature American Bald Eagle
Typical view from the deck looking East
Lowell Point is about 3 miles south of Seward, AK and is in the circle.
Welcome to A Cottage on the Bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Seward, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather V
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to make beautiful memories!”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at The Cottage on the Bay! The location is the best in Seward, right on the water in the Lowell Point community. We enjoyed the fire pit facing the water each evening and watching all the sea life. We saw whales twice swimming by the cottage as well as otters and sea lions. Eagles flew by regularly as well. During the day, we enjoyed all the activities in the Seward area and then it was back to the cottage for a cozy evening. The beds are SO comfortable, and the cottage is roomy and homey with so much character! Sue, the proprietress is awesome-so helpful and hospitable. We felt like we made a new friend. We would love to go back to the cottage, and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you, Heather, for your kind words....You now have a home and extended family in Alaska!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destinati...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs.”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed the little cottage on the bay in Seward. Our hostess was kind and helpful. The views were stunning! We actually saw whales one morning and watched them for quite some time out in the bay. My grandsons thoroughly enjoyed beachcombing! The house had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fuzz003
Albany, Australia
1 review
“loved it”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great time at Sue's cottage. Sue is very welcoming and generous with anything she can do to help. The cottage is gorgeous, a true place to relax and lose a few hours. The views cannot be compared, eagles flying past and otters floating by. We will be sure to book again when we return to Seward one day. Thankyou Sue!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Sadly, we had rainy weather our whole stay-but Sue can't fix that!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for the kind words. I really enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Little bit of clutter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thegallag...
Woodridge, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“serenity now”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved seward. Loved the cottage. Felt very relaxed, and cannot beat the view. Do not expect hotel type lodgings...you need to be respectful of water usage, if this doesn't describe you, go elsewhere. We stayed two nights with our three children 18, 22 and 24.We were out exploring during the day so the cottage was our wind down spot at night. Sue and her dogs are delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards,
Sue, Bentley and Hobo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james m
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Quaint and Comfortable Cottage, Wonderful Host”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted to find this cottage on short notice while my wife and I were traveling Alaska with my mother. Seward has limited lodging options in high demand with additional strain from cruise guests. This location is amazing!! The road to Lowell Point is a bit rough (not by Alaska standards) so beware if you're driving a not-so-rugged rental. Locals can grow impatient with slow drivers (anything near the 25mph speed limit) or those enjoying the scenery too much. Now again, LOCATION IS AMAZING!! Views are breathtaking day and night. The moon lit up Resurrection Bay like a light bulb during our stay. We saw a humpback whale playing in the bay, salmon thick in a nearby creek, and too many birds to list here. The owner's dogs became great friends to us during our stay. She was kind enough to let us take them for a walk and play with them. We missed them after we left and wondered what they were doing. Beds were exceptionally comfortable and linens were high quality. Cozy at night. It was awesome having Mama upstairs and a separate room downstairs so we could all enjoy privacy and peace after doing tourist stuff during the day. Nice spots inside and out to read a book, enjoy a beverage, or just sit and relax. Full fridge with many condiments and spices left from previous guests--check it out before shopping. We mostly dined out but it's phenomenal having a full kitchen with pots/pans/plates/utensils. Washer/dryer, satellite TV, wifi all worked great. HUGE kudos to Sue for coming over to restart the pilot light during a windy, cool late evening. She is very friendly, kind and helpful. She also gave excellent recommendations for the day cruises and food--if you are not sure, ask!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location (and the dogs)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words and comments. I look forward to your next visit. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing