We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Exit Glacier Lodge
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Amazing Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I recently got married in Seward and 24 of my family and friends stayed at the Exit Glacier Lodge. We had the most memorable time. The owners and staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for our special day. The rooms were clean and continental breakfast was great. Also has a great restaurant attached with great food, beer and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    42
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Facility is close to new, rooms are clean and decorated in a lodge style. Beds are comfortable.

Continental breakfast was very good and included fresh waffles cooked by friendly staff.

Staff at the front desk were helpful and booked a Kenai Fjords tour for us. We saved about $40 on the tour by booking through the hotel.

The restaurant next door was great and at times staffed by the same friendly folks who are running the hotel.

It's about a 10 minute drive to Exit Glacier, 5 minutes to the harbor.

My only complaint was about the heat. I don't know if the people below us were cranking up the heat or what, but we had a hard time keeping the room below 75. This being Alaska, there is normally no need for A/C. We eventually found a working solution by opening the window a crack (any more would let too much road noise in) and then opening the hotel room door a crack to get some cross ventilation. BTW we felt perfectly safe in the hotel and didn't have any problems opening the room door overnight.

Room Tip: Might want to get a first floor room. We were on the second floor and had trouble cooling the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greglena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

New building sort of designed to look and feel like a historic lodge. Mission accomplished. Charming "North Woods" theme including historic photos of Seward and Alaska. Clean, spacious rooms and a good continental breakfast. The owner and staff were very friendly. Also enjoyed the local beer, fresh food, and lively atmosphere of the Salmon Bake right next door. We sat next to locals whom said it was best place to eat in Seward. Another bonus, if you don't mind a short drive, is that you are away from the cruise ship crowds around the harbor.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaySnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very nice, clean and comfortable. We stayed in the main lodge and were provided a continental breakfast with cereal, toast, fresh strawberries and waffles. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and we would certainly stay there again if ever in Seward. We had a very pleasant dinner next door at the Salmon Bake, but one needs to get there early as the restaurant is very popular.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in their lodge and one night in the cabin, both are highly recommend. The owner of this family business are extremely friendly and helpful. We had flat tire on our car when we arrived and she help us call the local company fixed it. Also helped us booked the tour next day and got special discount. The only regret we had was not having time to try their Salmon Bake Restaurant, which always have a long waiting line of locals. We bid it is great. Hope will have a chance next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Exit Glacier Lodge in June. I echo what most reviewers say - "perfect". The staff, breakfast and room were perfect. Everything was clean. I had coffee on the porch in the morning which was relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjssjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The lodge is conveniently located, just outside Seward & on the road to the glacier. The room was very comfortable, with a different look & feel than a typical hotel room (which we enjoyed). If you stay in the main lodge, a continental breakfast is included (which was good). The owner checked us in & was very friendly. Note, if you are willing to pay in cash, you can get a discount on your room (there is an ATM available if needed).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
2.3 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Property: Exit Glacier Lodge
Address: Exit Glacier Road (Herman Leirer Road), PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Exit Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward
Exit Glacier Lodge Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing