We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Lodge”
Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exit Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Little Lodge”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in July, 2012. It was just great. Very convenient to town and Exit Glacier. The rooms are comfy. The owner is very friendly and chatty, as are the desk people. They were very helpful with dining suggestions and even gave us the use of their laundry in the evening. The continental breakfasts were perfect for us to start our days off. I would highly recommend Exit Glacier Lodge to my friends as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisnLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    50
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our daughter got married at a nearby hotel, but since we are from Florida, there were only 24 guests for the wedding, and we all stayed at Exit Glacier Lodge. It was amazing; we got to sit on the front porch, got served breakfast, and when the mother of the bride lost a button on her dress 30 minutes before the wedding, the owner of the lodge helped us out with a needle and a safety pin. What a great place to stay, and if we ever get to AK again, we would definitely stay there. It was very personable, and all of us who attended the wedding were made so welcome by all of the staff there. Great place to stay!! The owner is especially attentive, and handles everything that you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I recently got married in Seward and 24 of my family and friends stayed at the Exit Glacier Lodge. We had the most memorable time. The owners and staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for our special day. The rooms were clean and continental breakfast was great. Also has a great restaurant attached with great food, beer and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Facility is close to new, rooms are clean and decorated in a lodge style. Beds are comfortable.

Continental breakfast was very good and included fresh waffles cooked by friendly staff.

Staff at the front desk were helpful and booked a Kenai Fjords tour for us. We saved about $40 on the tour by booking through the hotel.

The restaurant next door was great and at times staffed by the same friendly folks who are running the hotel.

It's about a 10 minute drive to Exit Glacier, 5 minutes to the harbor.

My only complaint was about the heat. I don't know if the people below us were cranking up the heat or what, but we had a hard time keeping the room below 75. This being Alaska, there is normally no need for A/C. We eventually found a working solution by opening the window a crack (any more would let too much road noise in) and then opening the hotel room door a crack to get some cross ventilation. BTW we felt perfectly safe in the hotel and didn't have any problems opening the room door overnight.

Room Tip: Might want to get a first floor room. We were on the second floor and had trouble cooling the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greglena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

New building sort of designed to look and feel like a historic lodge. Mission accomplished. Charming "North Woods" theme including historic photos of Seward and Alaska. Clean, spacious rooms and a good continental breakfast. The owner and staff were very friendly. Also enjoyed the local beer, fresh food, and lively atmosphere of the Salmon Bake right next door. We sat next to locals whom said it was best place to eat in Seward. Another bonus, if you don't mind a short drive, is that you are away from the cruise ship crowds around the harbor.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaySnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very nice, clean and comfortable. We stayed in the main lodge and were provided a continental breakfast with cereal, toast, fresh strawberries and waffles. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and we would certainly stay there again if ever in Seward. We had a very pleasant dinner next door at the Salmon Bake, but one needs to get there early as the restaurant is very popular.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in their lodge and one night in the cabin, both are highly recommend. The owner of this family business are extremely friendly and helpful. We had flat tire on our car when we arrived and she help us call the local company fixed it. Also helped us booked the tour next day and got special discount. The only regret we had was not having time to try their Salmon Bake Restaurant, which always have a long waiting line of locals. We bid it is great. Hope will have a chance next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,041 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
2.3 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#6 of 14 in Seward
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Property: Exit Glacier Lodge
Address: Exit Glacier Road (Herman Leirer Road), PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Exit Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward
Exit Glacier Lodge Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing