We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Exit Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Fine accommodation a few miles outside Seward, right on the road to Exit Glacier. Friendly staff and nice clean rooms. Breakfast is excellent. The “Salmonbake Restaurant and Pub” which is located right next to the lodge serves great food at reasonable prices. If you have the stamina the 8.2-mile round trip day hike from the bottom of the glacier to Harding Icefield can be recommended. The trail winds through cottonwood and alder forests, passes though heather filled meadows and climbs well above tree line to a breath-taking view of the Icefield.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

A group of us stayed at the hotel for a few nights. The hotel was very comfortable and felt like a home. The rooms were very nice and the beds comfortable. What added to the experience were the little touches and imenities which can be found all around (like bunnies and the dog in the yard and all of the small extras available at breakfast). The included breakfast was wonderful. Nice box lunches can be made by you in the morning for a small fee. There is well working internet on site. The staff and owner, Sarah, were great to deal with, always accomodating and very friendly. The Salmon Bake restaurant which is directly next door and within a very short walking distance also offered excellent dinner meals at a reasonable price. Overall a fantastic experience and one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Would definatelty stay again on any future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July and couldn't have been happier. We actually booked into one of their cabins on the property but due to a booking complication, the cabin we requested was not available. Sarah, the owner, went above and beyond to re-arrange other reservations in order to accommodate us at the Lodge in a more spacious room without having to move during the 4 days. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well appointed, and breakfast (hot or cold) was included each morning. The Salmon Bake restaurant on the property was also great. We loved the location, less than 5 minutes outside the heart of Seward (and the summer crowds), on the road to Exit Glacier. Would definitely stay again when back in Seward.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and the location was slightly farther away from all the cruise tour operators launch area but easy to find. It is a new hotel but built with a vintage bed and breakfast feel to it. Highlight of the stay was the breakfast served the next morning, apart from the cold cereal and muffins available, the hostess was ready to serve us any hot meals we prefer (eggs, waffle, etc) which we really enjoyed. The property is very family friendly but be careful not to run over any of the rabbits on location when you park / back out :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suresh_mask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. We could not have asked for a more comfortable place to stay. Clean rooms with very friendly staff. The Salmon Bake next door was a great place for dinner. The only thing we could of had was nicer weather but the is mother nature. We also loved the old time feel this place has that adds to it's charm and beauty.

Room Tip: Clean rooms and friendly staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I couldn't recommend a better place in Seward! The views are magnificent, the breakfast was yummy and the property bunnies are too adorable. The staff in one word were superb! We were double booked with another guest and were upgraded at no extra cost. If we ever come up this way from Arizona again we will definately book this lodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinetcnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

All of the other reviews state what I would say. This was an awesome stay! Clean, spacious, comfortable rooms, good breakfast made to order, friendly helpful staff, easy to find, and reasonable. I felt right at home!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and could hear the people upstairs walking. If this is something that wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romantictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Address: Exit Glacier Road, PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range: £95 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Exit Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward
Exit Glacier Lodge Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing