We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, B&B-type atmosphere!”
Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Exit Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The rooms are comfortable and clean with enough amenities to make you feel at home. There was a coffee maker, refrigerator, and hairdryer provided. It's quiet & we slept with the windows open at night. It's built as a lodge or small motel, but it has the feel of a B&B w/very few rooms and personalized service. We booked the last room available, which was the double queen, but it was roomy & looked out on the woods. The folks who run the place are friendly and willing to make recommendations on things to do. The breakfast was wonderful - they cooked eggs and waffles for us each day. The Exit Glacier Salmon Bake is on the same property, so you can just walk next door for dinner. We also loved the dog that sits out front - very friendly - and the rabbits that hop around the yard (they're all over town, but there are at least 10 in the lodge yard). It's close to town, so it takes just a few minutes to drive to the docks or downtown. It's very convenient for visiting the Exit Glacier. It's on the same road, so you just have to drive a couple of miles and you're there. Our only complaint would be the lack of elevator. Our room was on the second floor, and we had to lug all of the luggage upstairs. Overall, I would highly recommend this as a great & affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a room at the Seward Windsong Lodge but could only book one night so we found Exit Glacier Lodge down the street and was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean, great breakfast included and loved the resident dog! And...It was about half the price of Windsong! Although, you enter your room from the interior of the lodge and you can hear voices in the hall, it is a quaint lodge and a great value.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank TAG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location: 2 miles from Seward on the Exit Glacier Road, 8 miles from Exit Glacier trailhead.
Room: Very comfortable, clean, good king-size bed, fridge.
Breakfast: Hot items cooked to order, good selection of continental breakfast items. Brittni and Sarah both said "no problem" when I asked if we could make peanut butter sandwiches and take them with us for lunch.
Staff: The owner, Sarah Benjamin, was very responsive and helpful over the phone and by email before we arrived. Sarah was away the night we arrived, and Brittni had left us a note and room key at the (unattended) front desk -- refreshingly casual and comforting. We met her the next morning at breakfast -- very friendly and helpful.
Ambience: Rustic, quiet and casual. Everything seems new, but the overall style is old-fashioned. Pretty fixtures, beautiful stone fireplace with mounted antlers.
Price: Sarah said they are usually closed this late in the season (mid-late Sept.), but they had a construction crew staying there so they were going to be open, and she could offer us an off-season rate of $79. We thought this was extremely reasonable -- an excellent value. BTW, we thought it might be noisy with a construction crew onsite, but it was very quiet!
We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The lodge is very well decorated and cozy. Staff very friendly and accommodating . Very quiet peaceful nights sleep. The restraurant on site was also very good. The breakfast was prepared as ordered, and all the food items were fresh. It was help yourself and also waiter help too! Great place would go back there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdcowguy573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed our early Sept stay at Exit Glacier Lodge. Sleeping temps were nice and cool, just what we like. I loved that it is close to a flowing river and not far from Exit Glacier. Hosts were very accommodating and personable. The breakfast was amazing with cooked to order eggs and waffles, included. All in all, a great stay. Decor is fun, too. It is actually a new building, made to look historic.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank klk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Small lodge hotel run by a couple and their black lab. We had booked a cabin but we were moved to the lodge. I was disappointed to be staying in the lodge but it was very quiet and comfortable. We were upstairs and just as other guests have said it was HOT! If you are staying downstairs please don't crank up your heater! We slept with the window open and fan on. It was raining all night so it was nice to have the window open and listen to the rain. Breakfast was good and dinner at the Salmon Bake Restaurant was one of the best meals we have ever eaten! My toddler loved playing with the doggie! It has a very homey feel, but the rooms are good size and have their own bathrooms. We will stay here again next time we are in Seward!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Exit Glacier Lodge is as neat as a pin and in a great location for those coming and going to Seward or to see Exit Glacier and the Resurrection River valley.

Our room was tastefully decorated and the beds, VERY comfortable. If we had one complaint it was that the room was just too warm. For some reason the heater escalated during the night. However, over all it was all we had expected based on reviews. Furthermore, the breakfast was fresh and filling. The eggs were cooked to perfection and the waffles were flavorful and filling. Fresh fruit and other breakfasty foods were provided at nicely appointed tables. The breakfast room was very homey and welcoming.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this lodge to everyone desiring a good night's rest for adventures that await in the Seward area.

Room Tip: Can't think of one. Though next to a busy restaurant we found the rooms to be quiet and restful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dineyander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Address: Exit Glacier Road, PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range: £94 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Exit Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward
Exit Glacier Lodge Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing