We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest retreat”
Review of Camelot Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camelot Cottages
Ranked #13 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Philadelphia
1 review
“Forest retreat”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place is a little treasure in the forest. We stayed in the apartment, which overlooks a small grove with ferns and flowers. With the private porch, fire pit, grill, and kitchenette, we could retreat and relax. The apartment was clean and warm-- a nice place to go to escape the Seward rain. The rest of the grounds are lush, with a shared fire pit gazebo, beautiful flowers and even some tasty vegetables growing here and there. Anthony and Joy are great hosts, committed to the place and to helping guests have a quiet and pleasant stay. If you like places with Alaska character AND comfort, you'll get it here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you kindly!
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wind Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed in cabin 3 with my husband and brother in law at the end of June and we had a great time. The beds were comfortable and we really enjoyed cooking in the kitchen. The host Anthony was friendly and helpful. The cottages are in a great location in the woods just outside of Seward and it was peaceful and quiet. I would definitely recommend Camelot Cottages and hope to stay there again on a future trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clglader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hope all is well with you all back in Michigan! Thank you!
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

i stayed here in the apartment above the shop over the 4th of july holiday for about a week. it was comfortable and quiet… close enough to town but far enough that i felt like i was a bit in the woods… there is a little deck off the apt. that was great to sit and have morning coffee as well as a grill and a fire pit which was super in the evenings. anthony really was a great host and checked in each day which was nice as i was traveling solo and tend to be a bit adventurous. i would certainly stay at camelot cottages again and you should too! ( as long as there's room on the dates i'll be in town ;) enjoy! )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi KQ, Thanks for staying with us. You were the 1st!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Considering the location, the fantastic service, and the affordable rates, you will think there is a catch to this place. But there isn't one. Camelot Cottages is that great. I was lucky enough to secure two nights in the Backpacker's Hut over the July 4th weekend. This, of course, is the busiest weekend of the year in Seward. The location in the woods just north of town was ideal – a quick drive away from all of the activities, restaurants, and services, yet peace and quiet at night.

The Backpacker's Hut is small, and it is basically a dry cabin – two attributes that may give pause to a few travelers. The bathroom is located just across the yard, though, in the same building that houses the laundry room. Also, being 6'1", the area beneath the loft necessitated some ducking on my part, while accessing the bed upstairs required ascending a ladder. But I wouldn't even rate these as minor inconveniences as I expected both. Plus, I was sleeping most of the time I was inside anyway. I will say, however, that although it is ideal for a solo traveler, I would advise against multiple people staying in the "Hut" unless you and your companion have zero personal space issues.

When traveling, I really don't think too much about service. But I have to say that Anthony is amazing. He truly wanted me to enjoy my stay, from the moment I arrived until I left two days later. And take him up on his offer to cook breakfast!

Really, I have nothing remotely bad to say about Camelot Cottages. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Backpackers' Hut is a small cabin without a bathroom. It is perfect, however, for the solo t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Brian, thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved the location, quiet and in the woods, the sun shining through the trees. Joy and Anthony were so nice and made sure we had everything we needed. Fresh flowers on our table, fresh towels and linens. Laundry room was available and convenient. There is also a nice area to have fire and roast marshmallows. Will definitely stay there again. Transportation not a problem, we used Mike's Taxi service into town and to the harbor area.

Room Tip: Smaller cabins are definitely for singles or couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks so much, hope your summer is a wonderful one!
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Camelot Cottages are an economical choice for a stay in Seward. Just a few minutes out of town it's away from the hustle and bustle and convenient as long as you have a car. We stayed in Cabin #1 for two nights and Anthony, the property manager, had our every interest at heart even though we pulled in sometime after 10 pm to check in!

The cabin was clean, cozy, had everything we needed and didn't feel too cramped. Coffee maker, microwave, gas stove and tiny oven, sink, dishes, some storage shelves for the kitchen. Bathroom had a pedestal sink, toilet and shower with new shower head. The water pressure was great! The bed was only a double, but for the 2 nights we were fine. There was a little table and 2 chairs for sitting down to breakfast or dinner, and a small TV with cable. No wi-fi.

Thanks Anthony & Joy for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you kindly for your review!
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Joy and Anthony are awesome and were very attentive to all of our needs. The place is in a beautiful location with easy accesss to downtown Seward. The grounds are immaculately maintained. Price was very reasonable compared to other options in the area. We'll definitely be staying at Camelot our next time in Seward.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much, I'm glad you had a great time!
Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.0 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
943 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
13.8 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
6.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Cottages

Property: Camelot Cottages
Address: 12379 Camelot Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cabins in the woods. Each cabin is equipped with kitchenette, and private bathroom.The grounds have shared fire-pit, and barbecue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camelot Cottages Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing