We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like family, not guests”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourdough Sue's Yurts
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is one of our new favorite places to stay in Alaska! Sue was incredibly accommodating and helpful with the entire visit, including a smooth booking process, calling the week before our arrival to confirm and make sure we didn't have any questions, all the way through to our checkout 3 nights later. Once we arrived she was a great help getting settled in and started the oil stove for us. All of our gear was soaked after 3 days kayaking in the rain (we were a muddy bedraggled mess) and she set us up with laundry facilities. She was a great resource for local information recommending restaurants, hikes, and fishing spots... she even gave us the fishing bait that worked best for her and her husband (along with bear spray)! The yurts are very clean, nicely decorated, well-maintained, and I would recommend them to anyone. There were 4 adults in our party and the 24' yurt had plenty of room. There is not a stove in the kitchen, but between the awesome grill and the convection microwave it was not an issue. The only dark spot was our neighbor who went nuts and made a scene screaming at Sue for some imagined problem. I was impressed that even then Sue was very professional. She is a great hostess and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on our next trip to the area and would recommend it to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank momma4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Thank you Minnesottans for your great review. These guests like so many others are priceless when it comes to friendliness. We appreciate your business .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Sourdough Sue's Yurts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We really enjoyed our night in the Yurt! We were a multi-generational family traveling in AK this summer and needed a place to stay with at least 3 beds. The hotels in Seward just don't offer that. I was thrilled to find Sourdough Sue's close to town.

The yurt was warm, dry, and comfortable. We had all the kitchen amenities (and BBQ grill) we needed to make our own dinner and breakfast in the yurt which was a nice change of pace after being on a cruise ship for a week. The grocery store was just a 10 minute (?) drive into Seward.

This was definitely one of the best nights lodging we had in AK over our 10 day land tour. We highly recommend Sourdough Sue's!!

Room Tip: There are three yurts--all located near one another. One has two bedrooms and pull outs in the livi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sahanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Yurts are fun and kids and family seem to love them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we went to seward for a cruise and show our niece from out of state around .Sue was very sweet and nice durning the booking process. she made a mistake and double booked the yurt we had reserved and confirmed she asked if she could move us and our things to a different yurt the second day we had prepaid so said sure! we left at 8;30 am had a wondefulday came back to the yurt with a nasty note attached to the door . about our things( 3 small book bags sized ) and our camping gear tent . incase we broke down or such being prepaired this is ALASKA.
the old diesle heater stove was comlicated even though there were directions posted on the wall a hole 8-10 frame full of dirrections wasnt sure so we called for help as the dirrections said to Sue was very rude stating there were directions on the wall and said nvm i will do it my self. came down didnt knock just walked straight in and started to tell us what idiots we were for not knowing how to light the stove . insulting my husbands Alaskan herritiage , and how she was pissed off that she had to MOVER OUR ENTIRE HOUSE TODAY i finally said something to her
You told us not to worry about moving our stuff sorry for inconvienceing you and moving you to begin with gave us yurt 3 2bed beautiful for 150 and #1 for 150 cash 300 both nights. and she still was being rude and very disrespectful ,insulting our entegrity telling us we live out of our truck...scaring our niece to tears and nightmares . i told her i think we will be leaving and going home she said go ahead I ALL READY HAVE YOUR MONEY TURN THE STOVE OFF IF U DO. at this point we were diffently not staying here i dont care how much money we paid her its the principal of the matter this Women SUE IS SCIKO

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merc19702000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

These young adults were very disrespectful . They took advantage of my good nature and hospitality. I offered to accommodate them and move their luggage for them the next morning to the other yurt. they did not tell me that they had left a whole truck full of items weightin hundreds of pounds to move. If they would have asked me if I could have stored them it would have been different. I could not lift half of the things they left and than had to wait until my husband came home to help move them out of the way so the next guests could check in. I offered to move their luggage not the whold truck! I thought that was so rude and disrespectful. The note was directed to have them move their things as soon as they return, but my husband and I moved them so my other guests could check in, I did not even receive a thank you for moving three truck loads to their new yurt. I could not believe they wanted me at (62yrs ). old to lift and move their whole truck load.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Five of us stayed in Sue's largest yurt. It was immaculate and well furnished. Sue was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen was complete (except for oven) and the grill worked very well. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Our large yurt is a great place for families. Lots of room to move around and sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great yurts that are out in the woods and certainly something different than a hotel. Very well maintained. The oil heater/stove added to the experience. An easy drive into Seward and the beautiful Kenai National Park and Exit glacier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 4Leisuretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Though not totally in the woods, Bear Lake is a unique small community. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A great alternative to staying in Seward proper. Don't think that these are basic tents, the yurts are large, clean and have all the amenities. Sue and Greg are great as well. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We try to keep our lodging groomed and clean.. Guests seem to like the fact that it is not your basic cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying in one of Sue's cabins - which was neatly prepared upon our arrival, with full attention to even the smallest details. The yurts are not your typical bare-bones yurts, but rather a modernized touch - which makes the experience even better for a first time user. Sue and her husband - and their dogs - were all great hosts and very welcoming. Would return without hesitation.

Only note, and not to be negative, sound travels well between yurts - so respect your neighbours privacy and enjoy the quiet scenery of Seward.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torontotravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Yes, Our dogs are the main attraction to our lodging. The keep all predators out and our good guests comfy and protected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,082 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
11.8 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Orca Island Cabins
Orca Island Cabins
#11 of 45 in Seward
96 reviews
3.3 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#6 of 45 in Seward
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nauti Otter
Nauti Otter
#7 of 45 in Seward
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourdough Sue's Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sue's Yurts

Address: 33940 Tressler Ave, Seward, AK 99664-9612
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ( 1 acre property ) has (3) available yurts. Our yurts are provided with all of the amenities. We have (2) 24ft. Yurt's which each sleeps (6) guests. Our new 30ft. Yurt has (2) private bedrooms with double beds and a full family room with a queen futon couch bed and (2) twin chair beds, to sleep (8) guests. Our 30ft. Also has a full kitchen and private bath and also includes all amenities, whick include coffe pot, dishes, towels, pots, pans griddle, fridge, microwave, 4 burner cooking stove and BBQ on deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourdough Sue's Yurts Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing