We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
149
49
11
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
49
11
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssourdough cabinother guestsyurt villagepancakes or wafflesgreat communicationindoor bathroombreakfast ingredientsaffordable stayunique placegave greataffordable optionwarm bedinteresting peopleplace to staywolf's denfire pitabsolutely loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This place was amazing! Other guests were very friendly, hostess was great! My adult son and I stayed here for one night while in Seward. It was very clean, and an overall great experience for myself, as it was my first Hostel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

So glad your first hostel experience was with the Nauti Otter and it was a memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed in Heather's hostel for four nights, three in the dorm room, one in a cabin. The hostel was booked out because of a famous annual race. Despite 38 people crammed in this place, the nights were very quiet. Heather is a great host: she told us about places to go, we got discounts on tours, we went to the bar to listen to a local band. I had been concerned about how to get to town, since we did not have a car. We always got a ride. Heather's father was super nice and drove us to town. Heather coordinated people a pond cars.
The three private rooms are very nice. The cabins are very small, the dorm room does not have much space to store luggage, but is cute. One downside: two showers and toilets for 38 people. The common area gets crowded when the house is fully booked.
Wonderful: the breakfast. You have to make it yourself, but everything is provided: cereals, milk, eggs, recipes and ingredients to make waffles and donuts. If you want a special place with a helpful host and you either have a rental car or don't mind to share rides, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Take one of the three private rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

It's great to hear you had a great time! My dad isn't always here, but when he is, he loves to be the "Nauti Otter Shuttle" and help guests get around town! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Nauti Otter that was in a perfect spot for trips to Seward and nearby hiking. Heather sent a lot of great tips on things to see on the way to Seward, as well as things to do once there. Very helpful and appreciated!

We stayed in the Wolf's Den Cabin, and were happy of the easy parking right next to it. I could not help but to think that it was like luxury camping - all the fun things about camping (outhouse and outshower option, outside fireplace, lots of fresh air, making your breakfast in a shared breakfast room) without the sometimes annoying things (putting up tents, sleeping bags, rough ground...). Everything we needed, and more, was in the little cabin. It was also clean and the bed was comfortable. Our only little complaint might be about the shower outside, where things had got a bit unclean, as guests were supposed to clean after using it.

Price-qualitywise the Nauti Otter is a great place to stay in!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaSa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks for posting a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! There is a lot to do around here and sorry to hear the outdoor shower wasn't ship-shape! I will definitely pay more attention to it in the future! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We ambled into Seward well after 9pm on a Thursday night with no reservations, and the Nauti Otter, while a ways outside of town, was the very first hostel we noticed on our way in. Heather welcomed us despite the hour and got us set up in one of the private exterior rooms. For the high-season rate of $90, we stayed in a small, albeit well-kept room in the back yard. There are several to choose from back there, and ours resembled a small shack covered in license plates. Although it sounds a bit rough, it was actually really nice on the inside, if not a bit tight. Accommodations come with breakfast included, and we were so grateful for a last-minute, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Always check out your beds first at hostels! They're good, but just to set expectations.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking time out to review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm a night owl, so that helps with late arrivals! We are pretty flexible and laid back around here!. Have safe travels and may we see you again! AAaarrrg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in the Wolf Den cabin and had a great time! It was by far the best place we stayed all trip. It was also great having Heather there to suggest activities. We said we wanted to go on a day cruise and she gave us a break down of each company and tour then once we chose she called for us and got a discount. The size of the cabin was just fine and we had a porch that we drank coffee on every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Ahhhh! That touches my heart that the Nauti Otter was your favorite place to stay your entire trip! I try to make this experience one you won't forget! Thank you for reviewing us and may we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews