We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seward Front Row B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seward Front Row B&B
Ranked #15 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Noise noise noise, bad bed, burned up, asked for a fan they said they would bring one but didn't.
No cable...
Sparse cook your own breakfast supplies
We had the basement room so didn't even get the views w/o going outside
Big disappointment for our two night stay, for our big bucks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dresser, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

When going to Seward (and you really need to put Seward in your vacation plans), Front Row B&B is THE place to stay...and here's why: (1) You'll not find a better view anywhere...it overlooks the bay and the snowcapped mountains, whether from the living room, the balcony, or from one of the two outdoor firepits...it's absolutely incredible. (2) The home - and yes, you are in Tom and Lori's home - is wonderfully built and has comfortable chairs and couches. (3) You cook your own breakfast...in a very nice open kitchen with everything you'd ever need. The fridge is stocked with bacon, eggs, vegetables, cheese, bread, butter, milk, juice...and the coffee and teas available are excellent. Or, you can help yourself to simple cereals and fruits if you like. Now, if you have your heart on someone cooking breakfast for you, this isn't the place...but I'd really encourage you to think about that. Also, Tom and Lori allow you to use their kitchen to prepare your own lunches and dinner (with your own food, of course) and while we didn't do that, we did bring in pizza one night and a deli dinner another night. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance of their home. (4) Finally, you can feel right at home here, without feeling you have to engage with everyone (you can, if they are around, but like any family, they come and go). I found Tom's tales of sailing the open seas absolutely fascinating. And to top it all off, this place is a real bargain...compared to all the other B&B's we stayed at in Alaska, Front Row was an exceptional value.

Room Tip: No preference on rooms. You'll want to spend your time in the living room or out on the deck at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We were booked to stay at A Swan Nest Inn, but were "upgraded" to a room at this B&B. Really it was just a room in the owner's house with no breakfast. We felt like we were intruding, and thankfully were only there for a night.

The walls are paper thin. You can hear every little thing that happens anywhere in the house (i.e. other guests using their bathroom). Also, you are required to take off your shoes at entry, which was a little weird.

The best part of this place is the location, but there are several other places to stay in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

You cannot ask
for a better location. You are directly across from the bay. We were on the ground floor. The room
was spacious and well designed with a comfy bed. We only met Tom, but he was very friendly.

I was disappointed with the breakfast offerings. I knew it would be self-serve, but expected more considering the price of the room. The fridge had bread to make toast and milk for cereal. Yet, there was no juice, only a coffee maker. Typically, a B&B offers a hot breakfast. I would list this as a room with a kitchenette.

You are within walking distance of restaurants and the Sea Life Center. The harbor is a short walk as well. We really enjoyed Seward.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and honestly, I was hoping for more. The home and location were beautiful, but I felt that the hospitality was lacking. I was hoping that the "breakfast" part of a b&b would constitute more than "help yourself to a mini fridge" with some meager items that would not make a full meal and would require us to do the cooking. The few times we ran into Tom and Lori, they did not seem very friendly. They smiled and asked how we were doing, but they seemed to only humor us and didn't really care to have us around. Very dismissive. Maybe we caught them in a bad time, but they did not live up to the friendliness I was expecting from their website statements. Maybe consider this more like a hostel boarding situation with a really beautiful setting?

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Location: wow! Corner plot facing the brilliant bay and mountains..close to eateries and a 5 min drive from the kenai tour/hrbour
Service: unparalleled..Tom and heather answered all of our 1000 questions even before we had checked in! and while we were here, they gave fbulous advice on what to do, where to eat an even got us discounts on tours we booked.
Pros: rooms are small but perfect for a couple, service, view, location, perfect hosts, Pvt baths, brilliant house overall
Cons: slightly pricey, bfast is ok

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prosenjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Alaska has some of the most beautiful panoramas we have ever seen, and this Bed and Breakfast takes advantage of one of the best we found our whole trip. Seward Front Row B&B sits right on a corner lot with sweeping views across Resurrection Bay with a back drop of to the glacier crowned mountains. There is truly nothing like looking out at that scene eating breakfast and swapping stories with other guests while watching otters bob in the ocean a hundred yards away. Incredible! Tom and Lori were fantastic hosts. As long time Alaskan residents they were full of advice and helped us plan many of our excursions around Seward and the Kenai Peninsula, from booking tours to advice on hiking trails; they even pointed out a few off-the-map hidden gems. Their website says they are pet friendly, which worried me at first, but unlike other places we’ve stayed in that have dogs these rooms were immaculate. The B&B is a five minute walk from all of the down-town restaurants, which is the perfect distance for an evening stroll, while the rooms are on a quite street with hardly any traffic. The fire place in the great room is a fantastic feature. After a long day of sightseeing it was great to curl up by the fire and look out of the big windows and just soak up Alaska. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glacier_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Front Row B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Front Row B&B

Property: Seward Front Row B&B
Address: 227 Ballaine Blvd, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sip your morning coffee while viewing otters, sea lions and the occasional whale. New in 2010. The view of the bay and mountains is unsurpassed. We are two blocks from restaurants, shops and the Sea Life Center. The harbor is a 20 min. walk along the shore front bike path. Enjoy the evening sitting around the fire pit watching the world pass by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seward Front Row B&B Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing