We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard rooms but awesome manager!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Standard rooms but awesome manager!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nothing fancy about this hotel, just standard rooms. The two most impressive things about this place was the location in proximity to Kayak Adventures Worldwide (the guide company we used for our 5 day kayak trip-see review) which was within walking distance. The second most impressive thing was the manager of this hotel. He went over the top to accomodate our group of seven. He stored some of our luggage for us (even though he really didn't have the room) that we did not need for our kayak trip. He also drove our group and our kayak gear to the guide company which was only a few blocks away, but he had to close the office in order to do this for us. After our kayak adventure, he closed his office again and drove us and our van load of lugguge to the train station that took us back to Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stopped in Seward for a day between Homer and Denali, mainly to do the glacier/fjord/whale watching boat tour. The hotel was fine-- not really that nice, but it was clean and functional and located in a decent location to access the main parts of Seward. The name is a total lie, since none of the rooms have a view of the water. But for a one-night stopover, it did the job.

One other note: We had incredibly noisy neighbors and there was early morning construction that meant little to no sleep. There is moveable patio furniture on the wood decks around the property that seems to encourage late night socializing in the midnight sun, so perhaps a top floor room or one closer to the office would prevent the noise. Not much could be done about the construction. Again, it's not great, but it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktlyne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We (two couples) stayed three nights in the 4-bedroom apartment, which could have slept 8 people. At check-in we were told there would be no maid service so as not to disturb the people who live in the other apartments, but how noisy is it to change towels, take out the garbage, and make beds? Upon entering the apartment, we noticed that one of the two toilets lacked a toilet seat. The front desk person seemed a bit put out about having to go to the hardware store to get a toilet seat for us! But she did it anyway.

After this inauspicious start, we settled in to enjoy the large, full kitchen, dining room, and large living room with comfortable but old and dingy-looking furniture. The whole place gives an air of old-fashioned, at-home comfort, but not great cleanliness. We appreciated the free/included washer and dryer to catch up on laundry. The two bathrooms have been somewhat updated, but the fans are very noisy. When I turned on the shower on two different mornings, water came out brown for a few seconds before clearing up. The showerheads are good and we had plenty of hot water. The beds are pretty good, but the springs are a bit squeaky. All four bedrooms are upstairs with one of the bathrooms.

This apartment would be a great deal for a large family or group. Even for two couples we considered it a bargain for the space, kitchen, and washer/dryer. You just have to be willing to put up with an old and somewhat dirty feel. One night we ate at Terry's Fish and Chips at the dock and had good food at a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Yes, as others have alluded to, this hotel is not on the waterway. It is halfway between the harborfront area of Seward, and the Aquarium, making it possible to walk to both areas. It is an older, dated room, soggy mattresses, but clean with a helpful staff. There are two floors, walkup, outside doors. No continental breakfast. Just a basic stay room. No frills

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Was disappointed upon checking in that there was no view of the harbor at all, just another building. Room was very average and beds older and softer, woke with a back ache both mornings. They are at least updating TV's to flat screen but none in our room yet, no fridge either. Was almost the highest price room we stayed in during the whole trip too. Very average hotel, shop around for a better deal if possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hotel is within walking distance of the harbor and you could see it from our room if you leaned to the right a lot. Don't bet on a great view--it just doesn't have them.
Comparatively, the same rate as other hotels in Seward, but Alaska is so pricey! Not close enough to walk downtown without having a bit of a trek.
The linens felt AWFUL...to the point that I had to put a t-shirt next to my skin.
We had a maid's closet (or something of the like) on one side of our room and the hot water heater must have been in there because it would fire up like someone was showering next door and go off, and come on, and go off...in regular showering intervals. It was so loud that we had to crank the TV volume way up AND it woke me from a dead sleep after I'd taken Advil PM and put in earplugs. I went to the front desk to complain and they gave us another room in the other building just to sleep in. They said there was no water heater in there and they didn't know what it could be. Being told that nobody else ever heard that surprises us because I'm usually a deep sleeper!
Other than that, a safe place to stay. Basic, no frills, but easy. Ask for the rooms across the street.

Room Tip: Stay AWAY from room 32...the hot water heater is on the other side and it was so noisy, it woke me f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gld2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Nothing special but OK for a stay. The sink was in the room and not in the bathroom which we found kind of strange. The outside trash can was over flowing and there seemed no one really cared to empty it. No view of the harbor so the name is misleading but its centrally located and a worthwhile place to stay for a few days in Seward.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing