We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the very best, but perfectly OK!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the very best, but perfectly OK!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was the first nights stay for a ten night vacation in Alaska. We booked late and could not get in to other better reviewed places. However, it was perfectly fine for one night and within walking distance to restaurants and shops.....the basics, comfortable and quiet. The staff was accommodating and very friendly. Thank you Mary!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolguyBoiseIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

A functional Hotel, clean rooms with a a fridge and a microwave.
If you are in the property that is adjacent to the main building, the wireless internet will be very patchy and will not work.
The property is a few minutes from the harbor where the cruises start.
The fact that they charge extra ($10 /day) even for a 1 year old is a little disconcerting- but that's their policy.
Front desk when they are there have helpful folks - All in all an okay hotel in pricey Seward.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building for internet access if you need it.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bhasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nothing fancy about this hotel, just standard rooms. The two most impressive things about this place was the location in proximity to Kayak Adventures Worldwide (the guide company we used for our 5 day kayak trip-see review) which was within walking distance. The second most impressive thing was the manager of this hotel. He went over the top to accomodate our group of seven. He stored some of our luggage for us (even though he really didn't have the room) that we did not need for our kayak trip. He also drove our group and our kayak gear to the guide company which was only a few blocks away, but he had to close the office in order to do this for us. After our kayak adventure, he closed his office again and drove us and our van load of lugguge to the train station that took us back to Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stopped in Seward for a day between Homer and Denali, mainly to do the glacier/fjord/whale watching boat tour. The hotel was fine-- not really that nice, but it was clean and functional and located in a decent location to access the main parts of Seward. The name is a total lie, since none of the rooms have a view of the water. But for a one-night stopover, it did the job.

One other note: We had incredibly noisy neighbors and there was early morning construction that meant little to no sleep. There is moveable patio furniture on the wood decks around the property that seems to encourage late night socializing in the midnight sun, so perhaps a top floor room or one closer to the office would prevent the noise. Not much could be done about the construction. Again, it's not great, but it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktlyne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We (two couples) stayed three nights in the 4-bedroom apartment, which could have slept 8 people. At check-in we were told there would be no maid service so as not to disturb the people who live in the other apartments, but how noisy is it to change towels, take out the garbage, and make beds? Upon entering the apartment, we noticed that one of the two toilets lacked a toilet seat. The front desk person seemed a bit put out about having to go to the hardware store to get a toilet seat for us! But she did it anyway.

After this inauspicious start, we settled in to enjoy the large, full kitchen, dining room, and large living room with comfortable but old and dingy-looking furniture. The whole place gives an air of old-fashioned, at-home comfort, but not great cleanliness. We appreciated the free/included washer and dryer to catch up on laundry. The two bathrooms have been somewhat updated, but the fans are very noisy. When I turned on the shower on two different mornings, water came out brown for a few seconds before clearing up. The showerheads are good and we had plenty of hot water. The beds are pretty good, but the springs are a bit squeaky. All four bedrooms are upstairs with one of the bathrooms.

This apartment would be a great deal for a large family or group. Even for two couples we considered it a bargain for the space, kitchen, and washer/dryer. You just have to be willing to put up with an old and somewhat dirty feel. One night we ate at Terry's Fish and Chips at the dock and had good food at a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Yes, as others have alluded to, this hotel is not on the waterway. It is halfway between the harborfront area of Seward, and the Aquarium, making it possible to walk to both areas. It is an older, dated room, soggy mattresses, but clean with a helpful staff. There are two floors, walkup, outside doors. No continental breakfast. Just a basic stay room. No frills

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#10 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing