We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezy late night check-in”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breezy late night check-in”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Arrived in Seward late at night with plans to go to the Aquarium in the morning. The front desk was closed but they called to arrange a late check-in when we had not gotten there in time. We found our way to the room with a provided map and had a great night sleep! Could not have asked for a nicer experience, they really went above and beyond the call.

This place was recommended to me by a co-worker who travels to Seward frequently and they were spot on. Great hotel. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upstaternic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I Am A Flight Attendant And Have Experienced The Best OF The Best And Worst OfThe Worst. The HarborVieW Inn Is Definitely Going Under Stay Again Places. The Staff Was Phenomenal. The Rooms Were Very Clean And Stocked With Essentials We Needed For OUr Stay. The Location Was Great. Just A Five Minute Walk ToThe Harbor Filled With Resturants And All Sorts Of Excursions. Exit Glacier Is Right Up The Road.seward Is A Small Town. Dont Expect A Hilton In This Small Town. Howeve My Experience At Harborview Inn I Couldn't Have Asked For Anything More.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meljo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

You get what you pay for at Harborview Inn. The staff is friendly and the room is clean. However, there were a few things missing that would've made our stay better. The windows in our small room did not have blackout shades on them, which meant we had about 22 hours of daylight shining in our windows. It also was missing an iron and ironing board, and shampoo.

If you need a bed to sleep in (and can sleep in daylight) and that's all, Harborview might be right for you. We ended up moving to the Holiday Inn (at nearly twice the price) for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July (the night before the 5 day kayak expedition) and two nights upon our return. Both times we stayed in rooms close to the office for better internet connectivity. Internet worked very well in both rooms. The accommodation was basic, but the rooms were reasonably clean and the beds comfortable. The office opens at 8AM and Mary was prompt in putting out the hot water and coffee shortly after. The free coffee and hot water in the office throughout the day was convenient, especially when we returned from the expedition on a rainy evening. The room did not have a refrigerator or a microwave, but Mary gladly stored our leftovers in the refrigerator in the office and even offered a plate next morning to microwave it. Both the downtown and harbor are at a reasonable walking distance. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and this hotel provides value for money in Seward where everything is expensive. We wanted a clean and comfortable place to spend the nights and this hotel did deliver on that.

Room Tip: If you need internet access, stay in a room closer to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwrugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Harborview is a reasonably priced motel. Within walking distance to all shops and restuarants. The only draw back was NO a/c and the screens in our room 114 (14) i can't remember had holes in them, so you could not open with out getting bugs in room. It would have been nice to have a fan, but oh well. The manager was have helpful. When he tells you the best places to eat believe him. Our room had a nice large bathroom, king bed. A microwave/fridge would have been nice, as the food is expensive there. Subway is the cheapest. On the road going to Exit Glacier, there is a little salmon canning store that offers $1.00 for a Salmon stick. STOP and get some they are delicous. My husband and myself bought to bags of the salmon chucks and ate them all on the way to Homer. (The sticks are so popular they run out ) :(

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was the first nights stay for a ten night vacation in Alaska. We booked late and could not get in to other better reviewed places. However, it was perfectly fine for one night and within walking distance to restaurants and shops.....the basics, comfortable and quiet. The staff was accommodating and very friendly. Thank you Mary!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolguyBoiseIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing