We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay with no problems”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We spent a couple of nights in Seward to take a tour of the Kenai Fjords before heading to Denali. Overall, it was an okay stay, with no complaints or problems.

Pros:
Room was small and sparse but clean.
Friendly staff
Reasonably priced
The harbor area (where most boat tours start) is within reasonable walking distance; free parking at the Inn allowed us to walk to the harbor area on the morning of our tour without having to pay for parking in the harbor area.
Despite being June, it was rainy and cold in Seward; however, our room was well heated and comfortable.

Cons:
The walls are thin and you will hear your neighbors
Not a very convenient location if you dont have your own transportation; it is located in between the harbor (10-15 min walk) and the downtown area (Sealife Centre, restaurants; another 10-15 min walk). There are no food options near the Inn and so you have to make a trip either to the harbor area or the downtown area for a bite to eat. Without a car, at the end of the long day, walking to downtown and back for food can seem like a trek.
The lobby area is only serviced until 10 pm at night; it was disconcerting that there is no one to reach after those hours in case of emergencies.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mh_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Harborview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

Seward is a drop-off point for cruisers, tours, and the Alaska Rail. We had flown into Anchorage for a two-day visit, then chose Seward for an overnight visit by rail before heading to my husband's business meeting in Girdwood. The Harborview Inn met our needs as a clean but not outstanding motel in-between the harbor drop-off point and the two-block city center of Seward. It was reasonably priced, although it seems that most of the hotels were similarly priced. If you aren't a walker, then this motel would probably not have worked for you, as it is in the middle of no where, really. But for us, we were able to walk to the harbor a few times, return to the hotel, then walk the opposite direction to city center a few times. The rooms were clean and the staff pleasant enough. I guess you can say that, staying at this motel, you are staying among the locals, not in a tourist area.

One downside is that the motel doesn't provide pick-up at the harbor, and we only saw one cab driver. Had we not been seasoned walkers, we would have been stuck. We noticed that many other hotels had shuttle service. The Alaska Railroad in Anchorage will even check your baggage by hotel, making sure your luggage got to the hotel with you. No such service with Harborview.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

This was a great place to stay for the money. The room we stayed in was on the first floor on the end. We had a partial view of the harbor. The bathroom was large enough and the room was very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LWBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

This is a two story motel, with nice wooden rustic exterior. We had rain on our first day so the covered walkways were welcome. The room was clean and reasonably sized, decorated in Alaska motifs (sort of grown-up camp) but uninspired. The bathroom was small and a bit sparse on amenities. Everything, however, was spotless. The building construction is very light so you’ll hear every noise from neighbors. We were on the first floor, so heard guests on one side and above. However, since there is no night life to speak of and most people are up at dawn for boat trips, the hotel settled into sleep early. If you go, ask for the second floor (which we did not) and you might get a view of the harbor. Rating B-.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Quaint, clean rooms, included mini fridge and micro. Free on site parking. Short drive to boat harbor and Sealife center. Great value for the money! Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coco040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

No view of harbor, no view at all. Lumpy, flat pillows. Sink was clogged, needed Drano. Thin walls. It was clean, but definitely not worth what we paid for it. Search around first.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rockersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Stayed two nights at Harborview Inn during May. It was a pleasant stay in a neat, clean and pleasant environment. The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. Not really a child friendly place, we had no refrigerator, no microwave, and there was an extra charge for the crib. The harbor view was obstructed but the mountain view was amazing.

Overall, it is a nice well kept place in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dmndlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £130 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing