We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This motel was located close to both downtown Seward and the harbor.
Rooms were small and a bit old fashioned, but very clean!
We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay.
With nice weather you can sit outside on the balcony.
Internet in the rooms did not work too well, but the closer to the office you moved the stronger the signal became.

Room Tip: There are probably only 2 rooms with a harbor view, however the harbor is around the corner. Ask a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After our cruise, the free city shuttle dropped us off at the hotel, where we were allowed to check in very early (10 AM), giving us plenty of time to have a cup of coffee and get to our Kenai Fjords cruise at the harbor. We could walk everywhere from this location, and we also had a very clean and spacious room where we had a great view of Marathon Mountain, as well as a view of the harbor. We were close to the museum and the coastal walk, as well as a wonderful Chinese restaurant. I wish we had stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a great spot in that it was only about 2 blocks from the harbor - which is where you'd want to be closest to. We also jogged down to the end of the road towards the "downtown" and then around on the seaside paved trail. There might have been things going on down that direction, but we loved the harbor area. Excellent restaurants and fun shops to browse. Also a great bakery. The staff were lovely and had great recommendations based on personal experience - not commission. We'd stay here again for sure. Our room didn't have a view from the room, but we were on a budget and it was VERY clean and certainly provided enough space for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelU178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Harborview Inn during the July 4th holiday and celebration in Seward. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was very basic. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. As far as the price goes it would be difficult to compare since rooms are at a premium during the 4th and the Mount Marathon race. When we had to check out on the 4th they allowed us to leave our car parked there which was very helpful given the limited parking because of the race. The location was good because it is about halfway between downtown and the marina and both are easily within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for one night . Its a small and neat place so do not expect anything fancy. However it is very neat (compare to other expensive stays in Alaska) and well maintained. The lady at front desk -"Mary" is very nice to chat to , We spoke to her for some time to learn more about local life in Seward and Norther Lights. She shared a lot of information and also some really cool pictures/Videos of Galciers, Norhern lights.

We did see few other guests being very rude and mentioning that its a small place very loud and rudely . Here is my take on it, Its a Neat and well kept place that you can get on Budget. You get what you pay for so DO NOT WINE , if you are so bother - Go to any other super fancy and expensive hotels is the town.

Note - This place does not have refreigrator and Microwave in the room and we were not surprised as Most of the hotels we stayed in Alaska , do not have it in room.
However there is a Microwave in the office area , use it when required.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Corner up side ( example room #14) has Beautiful view and are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHANDRIKA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The service was very good. The place is very basic and not terribly comfortable. We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Seward and this about what I expected. The area is very expensive so it is a good, basic place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The inn was clean and everything was functioning. Check in was fine. The room was very basic - no fridge, no shampoos, no restaurant, no breakfast, no biscuits, no microwave - basically a bed and some towels.

Now it's Seward, and everything is expensive, but this was the most expensive hotel we styed at anywhere in Alaska, and it was one of the most basic (and no harbour view).

You may not be able to do better, but I'd try to if you can.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing