We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay; convenient!”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay; convenient!”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We (three adults) stayed in the little "apartment" below the motel/office. Two-person bed in main windowless room, and fold-out for one in the living area (which had high/long windows letting in the midnight sun, fortunately not a problem for the person sleeping there). Some might say it was spartan or worse, but it suited our needs perfectly!

No view (as noted), but convenient to walk to the national park VC and the Kenai Fjords Cruise dock and also to the downtown shopping area with its TWO lunch-buffet Chinese restaurants. We drove to the Sea Life Center, but it would be possible to walk there as well; it's only a couple blocks farther on.

Internet wifi was intermittent, but enough to keep track of e-mail almost every day.

Adjacent to the housekeeping-station: could hear the industrial washer/dryer in the morning, but it was not loud enough to wake you up. And the maids were handy to exchange towels or empty trash, without having them actually service the room (we like the privacy of Do Not Disturb sign).

As an apartment, it was more expensive than a triple-room, but ability to prepare our own meals offset that, and having a "place of our own" with separate bedrooms after a week in ONE room on a cruise ship made it just the thing!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
230 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

This place is between the harbor and downtown. If you want to walk to shopping and the sea lfe center, stay nearer town. Stay nearer the harbor if you want shopping and more food choices. Nice looking place, but we were given a room across the street in the annex. The room was large and clean, but not near the lobby. No matter - it closed up at night anyway. Seems a little pricey, but that's just Seward (or Alaska in general)!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed in one of the apartments for a couple nights as part of our 2 week trip around Alaska.

a) How do they call this the Harborview hotel? The hotel is 5 blocks in from the harbor and there's no view of the harbor. The apartments ARE right across the street from the harbor. But most people are in the hotel.

b) They have a sign over the sink about routine maid service each day and if you want the dishes cleaned, leave $10. In the bathroom, there's signs about 'help save water / leave towels on the rack to reuse them or put them in the tub and we'll give you new ones. Turns out, they don't come down to the apartments every day. We needed dry towels after a rainy day on a boat... and had to come up to the front desk late in the day since housekeeping never went to our place. The front desk person was unapologetic.

c) They advertise that you get an internet connection. Not at the apartments though. They suggested I leach off someone's wifi nearby. There isn't any signal down there. Their lobby (front desk and not much more space) closes at 10PM. They said I could sit in my car after that time outside the office and use their wifi that way. The front desk person was unapologetic.

d) So after the rainy day on the boat, we needed a dryer. Harborview does not have a washer / dryer. I haven't needed one before, but always wind up walking past a laundry room. We wound up sneaking into the Holiday Inn Express, using their dryer and seeing that their property is very nice, much newer and comparably priced to the Harborview.

Please stay most anywhere else besides the Harborview. You will have a better experience if you go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Poor treatment from staff, no internet, no maid service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seward hotels

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed at the Harborview Inn for three days in 8/08. The Harborview is actually two properties. One is a typical motor inn, two floors, with no view despite the name. There is a building directly behind the property and it fronts on a main road. We stayed at the other property, which is actually a duplex house several blocks away from the main inn. It is right next to an RV park which sits between the house and the bay. Despite the RV park, because of the slope down to the bay, it is not too intrusive. The views are fantastic with snow-capped mountains across the beautiful bay. The facility, however, is not so glorious. It is old, with cheap curtains and bedding. It is large, however, and had two bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a bathroom. It is a house, after all. The heat was by propane heater in the living room (which made us a little nervous and had no directions), and baseboard heat in the bedrooms. There is no daily maid service, and if you want clean towels, you have to take the dirty ones up to the office yourself. If it was not for the location, I would not recommend this property, however, you can put up with a lot when you have the gorgeous mountains right there. And Seward is not really a metropolis where you would expect to have luxurious accommodations. I know we would go to Seward again as it was wonderful. I don't know if we would choose to stay at the Harborview Inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Old and run down
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larryswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

The room (ours atleast) did not have a view of the harbor. However, we were not planning on spending a great deal of time in the room and the view or lack of one made no difference. The room was nice and clean. It had a TV and a VCR. The wi-fi connection was pretty good. The room does not have a microwave. The staff told us that we could use the one they had in the office (the office would be open till 10:00pm).

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlandman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Our trip to Alaska was terrific. We stayed in a wide range of places from Fairbanks to Denali, Anchorage, Homer and Seward. Of all the places we stayed, the Harborview Inn was our only dissapointment. Even though this was our most expensive hotel stay, this felt more like a standard motel than any of the places we stayed. There was no breakfast of any kind. The room we stayed in did not have a refrigerator. The worst thing was that the staff was not nearly as friendly as the other hotels and cabins we stayed in. An example: On our final day, we awoke to cold showers. When we called the hotel lobby, they checked the water in a vacant room next door, assured us they could find nothing wrong and just chalked it up to too many people taking showers at the same time. That was the extent of their efforts and concern. For $150 a night, we expected more.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank portlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We spent a couple of nights in Seward to take a tour of the Kenai Fjords before heading to Denali. Overall, it was an okay stay, with no complaints or problems.

Pros:
Room was small and sparse but clean.
Friendly staff
Reasonably priced
The harbor area (where most boat tours start) is within reasonable walking distance; free parking at the Inn allowed us to walk to the harbor area on the morning of our tour without having to pay for parking in the harbor area.
Despite being June, it was rainy and cold in Seward; however, our room was well heated and comfortable.

Cons:
The walls are thin and you will hear your neighbors
Not a very convenient location if you dont have your own transportation; it is located in between the harbor (10-15 min walk) and the downtown area (Sealife Centre, restaurants; another 10-15 min walk). There are no food options near the Inn and so you have to make a trip either to the harbor area or the downtown area for a bite to eat. Without a car, at the end of the long day, walking to downtown and back for food can seem like a trek.
The lobby area is only serviced until 10 pm at night; it was disconcerting that there is no one to reach after those hours in case of emergencies.

  • Liked — Reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Lack of places to eat in the immediate vicinity of in the Inn
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing