We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Motel”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed here because we could not find anything else. Paid $169 for a double bed room. Room was on the first floor. very small. No harbor view. Luckily we only stayed there for a night. Front desk was friendly and helped us with the food choices in the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y2kman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

It is only couple blocks from the cruise dock. We can park our car in the hotel and save $5 daily parking when we went for Kenai Fjords National Park glacier cruise. If you booked two bedrooms, it is better to take the apartment D which has 4 bedrooms with less money. We went to Safeway to buy food and cook our dinner. It also has laundry facility.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dxp0105a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

its a motel, not a resort so dont expect a lot. we stayed at the 4 bedroom apt which is the biggest they have. we were 4 guys in our fishing group so we each had our own bedroom which is a plus! i would say the place we rented would sleep more than 8! 2 of the rooms had 2 double beds, the others had 1 bed. there is a living room with couches, a kitchen with stove/oven microwave, fridge, and coffee maker.and a dining room! i was surprised to find a full size washer and dryer inside too!. the internet router is inside the unit so the signal was super strong! for the price we paid for renting this place, i would definitely come back. in fact they were a lot lower than the other inns and hotels around seward. the staff was friendly, the harbor is around 5 minutes walking time, and downtown is around 15 minutes walking time too. if you are in a group or just have a big family i would recommend booking this 4 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Had a two night stay in early August. Paid $149/nt for a standard room.

Room was exactly what I expected, typical motel-style with a queen-size bed. Room was spotless and appeared to be well-kept. We were on the 2nd floor of the main building. Check in was quick, and the clerk helped us with some details for car repair.

The hotel is awkwardly located, about 1/2 the distance from downtown (food) and the small boat harbour (action). A block in either direction would make it a much more attractive place to stay. Having said that, the walk to either is only about 10 minutes and not particularly strenuous.

From what others have posted, the "annex" rooms may not be great, but for what it is, I had no complaints with the main building. Well - maybe the walls are a little thin, but again - it's just a motel so what do you expect?

Would stay here again if I ever find myself in Seward - doubtful in this lifetime.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ozcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Picturesonline are deceptive;stayed in the larges 4 bedroom suite..balck mold and hole around downstair bath..fungus and dirt on back deck,two of bedrooms were locked and they took 40 minutes to open, none functions internet routers.could only log in if we went to the front office!!upstairs yv had reception problems(repeatedly droped every 3 minutes??)staff had problems with communications; only plus was having two stories and space for a big group.. outside had cob webs on the walls???

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

First of all let me say that the name is deceptive but even though we did not have a view of the "harbor" it is still a very nice place to stay and it's within walking distance of the harbor. Our room was basic but had all the amenities that we needed, the bed was not so great but we've had worse. They provided plenty of pillows, our room had lots of windows (even in the bathroom) and the best surprise was how big the bathroom was! The price was very reasonable especially since we stayed there on the 4th of July when most hotels and B&B's are charging over $200.00 a night. We will definitely stay at the Harborview again! It had everything I really like in a hotel ~ clean, big bathroom and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We (three adults) stayed in the little "apartment" below the motel/office. Two-person bed in main windowless room, and fold-out for one in the living area (which had high/long windows letting in the midnight sun, fortunately not a problem for the person sleeping there). Some might say it was spartan or worse, but it suited our needs perfectly!

No view (as noted), but convenient to walk to the national park VC and the Kenai Fjords Cruise dock and also to the downtown shopping area with its TWO lunch-buffet Chinese restaurants. We drove to the Sea Life Center, but it would be possible to walk there as well; it's only a couple blocks farther on.

Internet wifi was intermittent, but enough to keep track of e-mail almost every day.

Adjacent to the housekeeping-station: could hear the industrial washer/dryer in the morning, but it was not loud enough to wake you up. And the maids were handy to exchange towels or empty trash, without having them actually service the room (we like the privacy of Do Not Disturb sign).

As an apartment, it was more expensive than a triple-room, but ability to prepare our own meals offset that, and having a "place of our own" with separate bedrooms after a week in ONE room on a cruise ship made it just the thing!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £131 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward
Harborview Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing