We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fairly typical best western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
288 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A fairly typical best western”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I must admit that whether travelling for work or pleasure, I typically do not stay at Best Western or other similar chain hotels, so my standards for hotels are fairly high. Having said that, the hotel is clean, in a good location across from the Alaska Sea Life center and within walking distance of the main "downtown" area of Seward, and the lobby wasnice, though very crowded with cruise and tour groups at all times.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    244
    108
    38
    22
See reviews for
191
278
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were on the Resurrection Bay boat tour during the day and drove to Denali the next day so we were not at this hotel for long. However, I thought it was quite nice. I wanted to book the H.I. Express but it was full. Wasn't sure what to expect from B.W. but the beds and linens were very good (only doubles though--not queens) the room was very clean and the breakfast was good. I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you want a location away from the dock area but near the water and a walking path along the shoreline, restaurants, shops, and the Alaska Sea Life Museum, this is for you. We really enjoyed the location of this hotel, our room, and the complimentary breakfast. Everything was within blocks !

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2seniors53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. Hotel is close to downtown, restaurants, Sealife center, only a short walking distance. Rooms are specious & clean. Breakfast is complimentary. Staff are very helpful. Hotel offers shuttle between the harbor & hotel. Advance booking is required.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrawanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A great central location for exploring the town and visiting the Sea Life Centre. We were lucky and managed to get street parking closeby (but had a 2 hr limit), but the designated parking area was a block and a half away. Our room was fine and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a great seasonal property. The rooms are small but very clean. The staff is amazing. Prompt answers to questions or requests and very polite. The location is nice. Very close to the Sea Life Center (a must do!) and a one block walk to all the best dining. I would highly recommend this Hotel if your travels take you to Seward.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdog D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I love the BW - I stay in their motels because of the reliably comfortable beds. However...this was the first "Plus" hotel I stayed at and it was not any different than the lower priced rooms of the regular Best Western chain. I suppose they tagged on the "Plus" as a way to add money onto the price tag??? It's on the waterfront at Resurrection Bay and there is a Balcony but I feel sure that people won't use the balcony, it's too small. There is nothing that inviting about it. The patrons would more than likely walk across the street and watch the otters swim lazily by. I don't see myself staying at a Plus B.W. hotel again. The room was smaller than the regular hotel rooms. I do appreciate the military discount. I hate the 11 am check-out times. That is a big gripe of mine. People on vacation don't want to get up early. And breakfast was served only up until 9am. What's their problem? I think that 10am minimum, better yet 11am to end breakfast is best. Think about it! We paid for that breakfast. The guests are not just paying for cable t.v. and a bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing