We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend in Seward Alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Wasilla, United States
1 review
“weekend in Seward Alaska”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel was comfortable but pricey. The breakfast area gets crowded and it gets difficult to make toast, waffles etc. also staff watches you and is uncomfortable if you want to take your food to the room. Eggs and hot dishes not to appetizing. Front desk staff are pleasant enough. Nice location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    243
    107
    38
    22
See reviews for
191
274
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Really like this place and have stayed there 5 different times. View, location near restaurants, shops, ocean, aquarium, trails and located on the coast all make this a great to stay. Rooms are comfortable, free breakfast is very adequate and

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stay way from best westerns, but this was the only option. Ok option for a family, not many other choices. Not much to do in Seward, can cover all activities in a day to a day and 1/2 if you do the fjord tour. No other cities nearby with hotels either. This hotel was up to date by alaska standards, free breakfast, clean enough but you could tell it was well used. Like I said, the only real choices are between the best western and holiday inn, everything else is really dumpy. The prices were high for a best western! Bring your own shampoo etc, at $250 they only provide soaps in little squeeze packages, lame.

Room Tip: 2 queen room with rollaway large enough for a family of 5, ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location. Can walk to SeaLife Center and many restaurants. Short drive to boat docks for Fjord tours. Great, extensive continental breakfast - and early hours to be able to make it to tours. Business services, like printing and fax complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Other than nothing to provide any airflow through the room during a week of warm temperatures the stay was great. Comfortable room, reliable internet, decent restaurant if you're there on business and aren't interested in hitting the town looking for a tourist trap to squeeze into with all the cruise ship guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel is in the downtown section of Seward one to two blocks from a number of restaurants and across the street from the Sea Life aquarium. Overnight parking is a block up the street. The interior decor of the lobby is rather rustic with some knotty pine beams and such. Our room was quite comfortable though a bit on the small side for three adults. The two queen beds plus our three suitcases seemed to fill the room. The room was attractive and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had the sink outside of the tub/toilet area which is nice. The included buffet breakfast is rather conventional anymore with a waffle maker, hot and cold cereal options, bread/pastry, drinks, etc. It was very nice and satisfying.

We were able to walk to the harbor for our tour of the Kenai Fjords National Park. It is a half hour or less walk along the water front. Part of the walk is past RV parks which are not so nice, but you are not far from the water and you are outdoors. Alaska is such a lovely place that just being outdoors and in sight of the surrounding mountains in Seward was nice. We did have nice weather which helped, of course.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ford2cars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed one night after a cruise, paid $153 in late-July. What a pleasant front desk staff; they held our bags since the room wasn't ready. The attractive lobby has local restaurant menus in a binder and a piano to use! The breakfast was very good with eggs, bacon, waffle maker, breads and muffins, English muffins, bagels, cereals, and oatmeal pockets. Our room had a balcony over looking the lobby - kind of cute!! The bathroom sink is outside bathroom; you may or may not like that. Room includes a MWO, refrig, coffee maker, and wifi. Quiet and clean, but the bed was on the too-soft side for me. Good location - Sea Life Center and waterfront are across the street; harbor is a 15-minute walk; plenty of restaurants nearby, or walk into the harbor area and eat there. We also walked a few blocks to get the$10/pp shuttle to Exit glacier. That was money well-spent;just be aware the last shuttle leaves the glacier at 5pm. Don't miss a Kenai Fjords national park boat trip!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flannery52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing