We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great hotel , great location,great staff,great breakfast,what more could you want.we stayed for three nights and ventured out each day for sightseeing and fun I hope you like the cold?there is also some great pubs and plenty of characters.if your next stop is anchoridge take the train scenery is fantastic and it doesn't get dark till at least 11pm

Room Tip: Go for top room overlooking the bay can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We originally booked the Holiday Inn Express based on Trip Advisor reviews. However, we arrived in Seward and realized there are actually TWO downtowns here. One near the busy cruise ship and cheap t-shirt shop area, the other more historic district a mile away. We quickly changed our reservation to the the BW Edgewater. For the same price we got a water view room with balcony. In a much better location. Walk to the Sea Life Center, nice restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, the rate includes an above-average continental breakfast. The room is on the small side, but it serves the purpose. It's clean, and comfortable. We're looking at Resurrection Bay and mountains, who can complain?!

Room Tip: We had a full water view room on the 3rd floor, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorij562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. The staff was very friendly. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. You can make your own waffles. One morning they had biscuits and gravy that was delicious. You can also get scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, pasteries, cereals and such. The place was quiet and peaceful. The Alaska Sea Life Center is right across the street. There are shops nearby. There is a nice walk along the bay to walk to the boat marina. We walked it many times and enjoyed it a lot. The views of the snow-capped mountains were awesome. The hotel was neat and clean. They have a shuttle bus that will take you into downtown Seward. The shuttle bus driver, I believe his name was Greg, was wonderful. He was very informative of the mountains and area establishments. We would stay here again if we ever get the chance to get back to Seward.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a great place to stay, with an excellent view of the water, a nice breakfast, close proximity to everything in Seward, and a friendly staff. It was nice to have a comfortable place to sleep after adventuring in Seward all day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank dlockard4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Within walking distance to downtown Seward and Seward Sealife Center. Breakfast was not bad at all - just what we needed prior to taking the Kenai fjords tour. They have in-room air conditioners, which you don't usually see in Alaska. Our only complaint, which is minor, is the bed was a little too hard for us. But it was quiet and clean, so I give bonus points for that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

All in all it was okay. The rooms, we got two, were small for the price but all things in Alaska are expensive. The only complaints we have after two nights was 1) i asked about the gym, i was told by the front desk that the manager was too lazy to go to the gym,a block away, which is where you walk, to get any passes so a staff member has to walk anybody that wants to work out and pay for a day pass for the guest. Not real happy staff members about that. Not to mention that this is a small area and it has a FOR SALE sign in multiple windows.

The choice of restaurants are multiple. There are a few within walking distance, a few blocks, sort of nice. You can also drive to the harbor area and have a few more choices and gift shop choices, which around the hotel there are a few as well. We ate at Christo's which is one that serves about everything. The prices were a bit high. Food was good. We had the 12" pizza's times three, as well as other things. If you order this, one 12" is enough for two, if not three small eaters.

Hotel is clean. Beds and pillows were good. Bathrooms are small, sink is outside the toilet and shower/tub. Window air conditioners throughout, but we opened the patio door and my in-laws used opened their window in the room. ?Breakfast was good, not much to complain about there. The darkness of the rooms, not!!!! The curtains do not shut completely, in our room or my inlaws. And in June, it does not get dark at night. We put a suit case to partially close out some light on the end by one of the beds.

Good and clean overall. Would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for either an ocean view or a balcony looking out over downtown and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIREMAN1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with family including 2 children under 3 y/0. Great staff. Nice and clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Fast elevator. Can't say enough about it. It is pricey but everything in Seward is pricey. Probably won't be coming back to Seward but if I do I'll stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank 70wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel

Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £100 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing