We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“American” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Anchorage, United States
1 review
“American”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A very nice experience. The location was in a good place for us to be able to walk along the beach and see other activities. Even though the staff was busy with other customers they were quick to provide what ever the need was we had very quickly. Having a breakfast available for us was a plus since it made it easier to start out morning off without having to rush around to go out and look for a place and then having to find a place to park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    243
    105
    37
    22
See reviews for
190
274
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I stayed here three nights in July. I thought the hotel decor was cheerful, the rooms were clean ,and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom area was a little cramped.
We had a partial bay view which was very nice. The hotel is located in a quiet part of town.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1021_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff has been extremely helpful and friendly. The room is average, lacks AC but the hotel provides a fan in the room. There are limited hotels in the Seward area. The Best Western is one of the best places to stay. It is located by the bay. If possible book in advance to get a room with an ocean view. The hotel is pricey, but typical for many Alaskan towns. It may not be a good value for your money, in terms of amenities or ambiance, but it is a clean friendly place that is quiet. We used our rewards to get a free night the last time we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'd give it 3 for the hotel itself and 1 star for the view. Room is lovely with a balcony facing the bay, and we could just stay in the room and enjoy the view for a whole day. Lots of breakfast selections. Some of the staff are very nice and helpful and some are not. TV is not easy to use and wifi is painful having to input password dozens of times a day.

Room Tip: Room 309 has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was the most expensive hotel of a two week vacation in AK including very nice hotels in Denali and highly rated hotels in Anchorage. In fact, this was one of the worst hotels of my long, well-traveled life. I feel totally ripped off.. The room was shockingly teensy. The bathroom sink was literally fwo feet from the bed. There were no toiletries, only dispensers (and the shower gel was empty). The towels were sandpaper.The Wifi was intermittent. My "mountain view" overlooked a parking lot. When I arrived the heat was on in the room and to cool it down, I turned on the AC which was really really loud - it was impossible to sleep with it on so I opened the window. It got Very noisy after midnight when people returned from the bars. I asked at the desk whether all the rooms were so small and laid out similarily .Tthe sniippy woman at the desk assured me that every room is identical- so DO NOT STAY HERE if you value space or wish to sleep at a distance from the sink or care to use it privately. In the morning I awoke to cooking smells at 6:30 - very strong and unpleasant. at 8:30 I tried to go to breakfast and there were at least 50 children milling about the room plus many adult visitors I could not get close to any food and there was no where to sit at all. Not a single seat was available and it was loud and chaotic. There was ONE toaster and One waffle maker for all those people and the generous Best Western served half bananas to its guest (perhaps they didn't pay as much as I but if you only knew how much,, a half of a browned banana is an insult) The good points - lots of tv channels and starbucks coffee in the single serve maker (but somehow it tasted like chemicals and was undrinkable) I was...very disappointed, and I I feel cheated.. Shame on this dump for exorbitant rates for sub-par accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank marysued2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Edgewater Hotel in July 2014 and had a first floor room facing the bay. Not the best view, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, had we been on any of the higher floors, the view would have been fantastic!! The microwave came in handy for heating up leftovers for lunch following a large dinner at Ray's Waterfront which we highly recommend. The breakfast was ok, your usual continental. The hotel is an easy walk to the bay and to the Alaska SeaLife Center making it a great location to stay in. We caught a shuttle from the front door to the Exit Glacier trail ($10.00 round trip) and was able to walk right up to the glacier. The Seward Brewing Company is also just a short walk away and it was a delightful place to have lunch or dinner, don't miss it.

Room Tip: You want a room that faces the bay and preferably the 2nd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
246 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The view from room #303 is astounding: water and mountains everywhere you look. Added to it are Zudy's Cafe and the Alaska Sealife Center. Great walking paths along the bay. Nearby trails into the mountains. A beautiful room, with a very comfortable bed, a nice sofa, a good desk, and a lovely deck.

All of the above are six-stars. This makes up for the sub-par breakfast operation. While the employee who manages the breakfast area is great (she works very, very hard and is very nice) the food is motel typical - no different than what I have found in small town motels in the Midwest.

Kudos to the van drivers, who are extremely helpful and nice. We very much appreciated the rides to and from the Alaska Railroad station. We also appreciated the great service provided by the hotel staff in dealing with the lack of heat the first, cold night. Housekeeping staff did a great job.

The Best Western Plus is right on the bay, and in a very nice area of the Seward Downtown area. Minor shortcomings. If making a return trip to Seward this is were I would stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go ahead and spend a bit more to get one of the rooms with a view of the bay. The view was outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing