We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2007

The Edgewater is a piece of luxury (by Alaskan standards) and we had no complaints to make about the room or service we received at the hotel. They provided very good advice in helping us to book a day trip out to see the Northwestern Glacier and were friendly and helpful in general. The hotel is ideally located for the downtown restaurants and museum.

The only complaint would be that breakfast was inadequate, with just cereal, toast and cinammon rolls provided.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usafan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2007

The price was right and the view was great but the accomodations were meager to say the least. The breakfast was cold cereal and cinnamon rolls. The room doesn't have a sink in the bathroom...it's in the bedroom. Not much storage space. We were there in winter and it was absolutley freezing so that may have taken some of the appeal away. It could be more pleasant in the summer. If you need a quiet, clean, cheap place with a spectacular view, then stay here. It's for people not expecting a fancy place, just a comfortable one.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

We got a package deal from the local paper for $99/per person per night with four hour whale watching cruise and 2 passes to the sealife center.
What you should know about Alaska and it's buildings. It is our opinion (we never researched this) that the fire codes must be different in this state. It is apparent that in most towns (with the exception of Anchorage) that the hotels have no fire walls between rooms or floors, which makes the rooms feel very flimsy. It also adds to the noise level from other rooms and from the hallways. So, if noise is a factor to you, book the top floor or get a self contained cabin as you will find that the hotels/motels seem to be very "hollow".
Hotel staff is very friendly, and the place seemed pretty clean. The rooms were basic. Two full sized beds and a full bath. TV with all of the channels if you can figure out the remote.
Beds were comfortable but had misc. hairs on it and a few blood stains on the comforter, which is an indication that they rarely wash them and is why I never sleep with them.
Bath was fine, but again misc hair in the corners and the tub was never cleaned from previous guests as there was shampoo and soap in the tub.
Rooms to book- If you are going here, I would suggest getting the top floor rooms facing the water. Yes you overlook the sealife center parking lot, big deal. You still see the water. If they aren't available then top floor facing the alley would be my second choice as it still has a nice mountain view but not the road noise of the front facing rooms. DO NOT book or get the rooms that have no window and face the lobby. They looked completely uncomfortable and noisy. I have never encountered a room set up such as that one and when we saw them, we couldn't imagine not having a window or a way for fresh air.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Homergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

Terrible. Staff was unfriendly, the bed sheets were filled with other people's... "private" hairs. Hot tub jets did not work. Kids screaming and running down the halls at 9 in the morning. I would definitely advise you to try a different hotel in Seward. Our biggest problem was with the desk staff. I called down to the front desk and asked for some fresh towels and to have the trash taken out of our room. The desk staff told me that the cleaning crews were out for the day and "theres is a dumpster out back". Well we knew for sure the cleaning crews were in fact still in because one was down the hall prepping 4 rooms with the door wide open and we saw her and actually exchanged smiles with her only 30 seconds earlier. They had a hot tub that had jets but unfortunately they did not function at all. We kept finding other peoples long hairs in our bed, and at least 3 times found pubic hairs. The chairs in the room were dirty and stained. We payed the extra money per night for the deluxe room with the view and loved the scenery. But there are other hotels in Seward for less money and the same great views, I would definitely tell you to try them out. Oh, and their waterfall in the atrium was either broken or they just decided not to turn it on and the hallway lights you had to to turn on yourself at night, I suppose they were trying to save costs or something. We won't stay at the hotel Edgewater again after this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigsepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

LOVELY location, friendly helpful staff and a BEAUTIFUL city make the Edgewater a place to spend a couple of days while you explore the fishing in the bay and the other activities Seward has to offer. Walk around town and visit the local pubs and people. A VERY friendly town, and a VERY Friendly property.

I admit, it isn't a 5 star hotel, but look where it islocated...., it is clean, well situated, friendly helpful staff..what more do you REALLY need!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Douglas Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2006

Five of us (mom, dad, 13, 10 and 5 year old) stayed for two nights in early July.

We only booked about 6 weeks before our stay and were, therefore, somewhat cramped in the one remaining room with two twins and a roll away.

Our general impression of Seward was not overly favourable (we had come straight from sunny Homer to very cloudy and dreary Seward) and the streets were dirty and littered with July 4th debris, with the harbour/water front a giant RV park.

That said, the Edgewater was likely one of the best hotels in town and we found a very decent bistro 5 minutes away with innovative and tasty food: Yoly's Bistro on 4th Avenue.

Edgewater positives: cosy reception/lounge area with fire, games, gift store and tour agency. Very friendly lady, Pat, at tour agency.
Kids enjoyed the breakfast - cinnamon buns, juices, toast, cereals, fruit, coffee.
Good location close to water and Sea Life Center, as well as town centre.
Beautiful hanging baskets around reception.

Edgewater negatives: reception staff efficient but not friendly. Rooms are small and standard motel quality. Car park is a block away (although you can park outside the hotel if you can find a place, between 5pm and 10am).
Harbour itself is a stiff walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diversitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

Wow! This hotel bent over backwards for us. We arrived early, a group of twenty one ages one to eighty five. They let us in our rooms, and even transported us to dinner, which took several trips in their van. They offer coffee, juices, board games a hot fire all in their lobby. They were very friendly folks. I felt like I was on the show Northern Exposure. We slept great. I loved all the soaps and lotions (very upscale goodies). We were leaving for a cruise at 5pm and check out was at 11am, these people held our luggage while we took a whale watching trip, dropped us off, picked us back up, and then took us to the cruise ship. UNBELIEVABLE! I can not thank this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank totalimage446b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel

Address: 202 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £109 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater
Best Western Seward
Seward Best Western
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing