We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Work in Progress but it must get better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Van Gilder Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Van Gilder and were disappointed. The room was adequate and seemed clean. The bathroom was the same. HOWEVER, there was no breakfast, the halls were partially painted and partially wall papered (I think they were taking down the wall paper). The lobby was locked when we arrived in the late afternoon with jail-type bars so we yelled and someone finally appeared. The front door's latch was broken and the steps leading up to the hotel were in need of being replaced. This property is on the National Historic Register, but it needs some major attention and up-dating.
When we checked out (around 8:00 am) the lobby again was locked with jail-type bars. I yelled for someone but no one answered. I just threw our room-keys through the bars and hoped they would bill me correctly, which they did.
I was told the Land's End Hotel in Homer owns the Van Gilder. We stayed at the Land's End Hotel and it was wonderful. They need to work on the Van Gilder. With some effort and a breakfast, it could be the best place to stay in Seward

Room Tip: I'd recommend travelers stay at the Best Western in Seward until the Van Gilder is completely re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stay at some pretty interesting hotels across the United States ought thisone would be interesting as well. yes it's old and needs some updating but the problem was that the electricity went out in our room and the hallway and when we reported it they were very blase about it. we were without power for about 14 hours and they were not showing any urgency to fix it didn't offer to comp anything.also the shower was leaking and is very small barely enough room to turn around in it and the shower head is place very low so you can get your head under it the windows are very dirty I think even if a place need some updating you can be kept clean so overall we were disappointed in our stay here. It is convenient to downtown and originally the staff was friendly but when you have a customer service problem like no electricity you really need to show some urgency.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjkrkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Yes, the Van Gilder is old and could stand a refreshing/updating (including some work on leaking showers) but we enjoyed staying there -- largely because Danny, the GM (cleaning guy, bellman, and whatever else is needed) is a great host. (We hope he enjoyed the gift certificate to the local brewpub; he's the type that a standard room tip for the maid won't be enough.) You won't find a fitness center, but you'll remember the stay with a smile.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perfessor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Don't go in thinking you are staying at Sheraton!!! The Sheraton wasn't built in 1916!!! Go in with an open mind and take in what this hotel is really about!! It is like you just stepped back in time!! Needs a little work here & there but overall I fell totally in love with this place! And Daniel, the hotel GM, was really awesome!!! He was so willing to help us with anything we needed during our stay!! If I am ever lucky enough to visit Seward again, I would not hesitate to stay here again!!! In fact, it would be my first choice!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's not the top choice in luxury but it is definitely a historic place that could use some updating. The management and staff were truly awesome to say the least. The hotel is interesting at least if you at all care about the history of the area. Located within walking distance to resurrection bay.... Beautiful scenery truly breathtaking area!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasphinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Many of the other reviews reflect our experience at this hotel, which was built in 1915. The room was tiny, and overall, the place is in desperate need of a refreshing. It has some cool history, and the pictures on the walls are interesting. Danny, the GM, is a great guy, helpful and friendly - I hope he is well paid!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CbinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Dan, the manager, is really the only good thing I have to say about this place. But for $200 dollars a night it really is dirty, terrible, and uncomfortable. It is one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. Since payment was made ahead of time there was nothing we could do.
Gross sheets, beds, bathrooms...etc...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank annie29_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Van Gilder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Van Gilder Hotel

Address: 308 Adams St., Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £106 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Gilder Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Van Gilder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Gilder Hotel
Van Gilder Seward
The Van Gilder Hotel Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing