We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel”
Review of The Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Breeze Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great location next to harbor and everything else. Clean rooms and shower rooms are a little hot and dark but have good beds. The annex building is great. This was a very good stay but I wish the room was less hot. That is my only issue with this hotel

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pierce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Don't understand the poor reviews for this hotel. This was our last and longest stay (4 days) on our 18 day trip to Alaska and we were very happy with our choice. We had a deluxe room with harbor view in the annex building. Although our window was right above the main drag of Seward, street noise was minimal even with our window open the whole time. We arrived by train around 11:00 A.M and the shuttle was waiting at the station. Their literature clearly states that check-in is 3:00 P.M. so it wasn't a surprise they weren't ready for us. We stored our luggage and hopped on the free Seward bus and went to the Alaska Sealife Center. The room was clean and spacious with that marvelous view of the harbor. The location is the biggest plus. The docks to the tour boats and charter fishing fleet are right across the the street as are manygood eating establishments close by. Maybe we were lucky, maybe Michelle works at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: harbor view in the newer annex building was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Breeze in did have some staff who ignored customers, but I lucked out with Shannon L. She did all she could to make sure I could get into my room as soon as possible. I loved the in room jaccuzi to work out the sore muscles after fishing each day. There was a AC in the room as well as a small refrigerator. This trip was a "roughing it trip" in Alaska not a 5 star resort in San Fransico or New York. Since I was there early in the morning and check in was at 3, Shannon stored my bags, showed me a quiet comfortable location I could kick back and showed me where I could check my computer messages, She keep me updated and talked with the maid service to have them clean my room as soon as it was vacated. Shannon went the extra mile to make my stay comfortable. Provided me with recommendations, directions, etc. I rate her a 5 star plus employee in a 3 star establishment. I would return there again.

Room Tip: My room had a large jacussi tub, walk in shower, and small room AC. Was in the annex and was centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Bottom Line Up Front: DO NOT STAY HERE!!! As a military family traveling around the country we have stayed in hotels ranging from awesome to well below standard, but the BREEZE INN was by far THE WORST HOTEL we have encountered! It started with them giving away our room that we had booked weeks in advance. Then we were placed in a smoking room that smelled terrible and had two uncomfortable beds. We were told that we would be given one night free based on their mistake and having to give us a smoking room. When we went to check out they charged us full price. It took well over half an hour to remedy that situation. It took four days for the money to show back up into our account. Then four weeks after our trip THEY CHARGED US FULL PRICE AGAIN, draining our account of $350. Then when we called to try to fix this problem we were told that we can't talk to someone for 5 more days because that is when a manager will be present again. OUT $350 until then. These people are incompetent and thieves. Stay away from this place. WORST HOTEL EVER.

Room Tip: stay at a holiday inn or any other place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Seward is beautiful. The Breeze Inn is definitely not, especially the older rooms with no view, pervasive yucky smell, dirty carpeting, limited amenities, etc. But what's most unappealing is the indifference and lack of customer service at the front desk. Most positive feature is its Location.

Room Tip: Maybe stay in the renovated, air-conditioned units or not....Don't know if new(er) rooms are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellmark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel was better than I expected.
It was clean and comfortable.
It has a main building and an annex behind it.
We were in the annex.
Our room was roadside, so if you keep the window open, it can be noisy.
But, we did not mind.
There is laundry facility, which was nice for us.
We did not eat at restaurant, just had drink at bar.
The service was helpful, nice, and quick.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms in annex can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly s, Director of Sales at The Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you, Amanda, for your feedback. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoyed their visit to Seward and had a good experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

While all hotels in Alaska are expensive in the summer, I still would not recommend this hotel. Most of the rooms are on the small older side with motel style outside doors. I'm never a fan of this style of room since if you keep the window open (there is no AC) it is very noisy every time anyone walks by. There is no breakfast included. The WiFi is questionable at best. The beds are small and the rooms dated. There are much better options in Seward for the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodnwine2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly s, Director of Sales at The Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback, as we strive to make everyone that stays here, happy with their stay. We do still have our older, original section of the motel in operation along with our new updated section as well. I would recommend the newer section to those who do not like the old motel style and are looking for the inside entry. There are people who like the old style as they like to haul their coolers and fishing gear and sometimes, pets, in and out of the rooms. We do not serve a continental breakfast as we have a full service restaurant open at 6am to accommodate all of our customers. Thanks again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breeze Inn

Address: 303 North Harbor, PO Box 2147, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £50 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breeze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Seward's Small Boat Harbor. With 86 modern and comfortable rooms to choose from, our lodging options include jacuzzi suites, fully accessible rooms, pet-friendly rooms and standard to deluxe accommodations available year-round. We also have a full service restaurant and lounge, 2 gift shops and espresso shop. Convenient, accommodating and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breeze Hotel Seward
Breeze Hotel Seward
The Breeze Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing