We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breeze Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I made a last-minute reservation to stay here and really enjoyed the experience. The room was extremely comfortable and I loved the lobby (with it's excellent wifi). The staff were very helpful and friendly and the associated restaurant an excellent place for breakfast (the waffles were wonderful). I stayed there for several days while I wandered around Seward, visited the gorgeous Kenai Nature Park and Sealife Center and then walked the easy quarter mile to board my cruise ship .

Room Tip: The rooms fronting on the wharf road (or whatever it is called) should have a view of the gorgeous b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is located in the "New Seward" It is along the docks and near a cluster of tourist shops and restaurants. The annex has views of the docks and mountains.

The hotel is clean, safe, comfortable, but unremarkable. This is OK for the price point and given that in Alaska you should be spending very little time in the hotel room. The staff was courteous and helpful. The WIFI worked well in the room.

No iron and board were in the room and no safe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Yes it's right in town, everything is, this is a small fishing village. I had booked this hotel myself, then let them know we were coming off a cruise ship early morning (9am). We were picked up by their shuttle but was then told by grumpy blonde receptionist, our room wasn't ready until 3pm. Pouring with rain, 100 rooms they say they have and not one ready for us? So we killed time until 2.55pm. 6hrs gone by - Room still not ready - actually grumpy blonde, even ruder now says, I TOLD YOU 3 O'CLOCK - so we sat down for 5 mins, 15 mins, 30 mins by now another couple had joined us in the same situation as us. Husband now pretty ticked off, goes to desk only to be told by 'new' receptionist, she thought we were waiting for a tour! Of course our room was ready!!

Room was large but polystyrene cups, we asked for some mugs as we were staying 3 nights. It was OK, grumpy wasn't much better next day when hubby decides to have 'words' with her regarding the lack of info she & her offsider had provided to the next shift., I should say she ignored him. Said we would put our treatment on Trip Advisor, Oh! Boy! Did she lift her game on our second morning - too late! We wanted a few essentials, asked if there was a supermarket nearby, told to walk 2 blocks to Safeways, run out of puff it's so far away - WHY weren't we offered the FREE shuttle or told about the FREE shuttle from the front of their own café.
Would have been nice to have breakfast at reduced rate, they send you to the café and it turns out it's owned by them. Asking for hotel shuttle to take us and our luggage to the Kenai Cruise office, as we were to take the cruise and go direct to train. Shuttle driver asked why couldn't we walk it, he thought we wouldn't hear. He turned up grudgingly. Very Ho! Hum! service, but seemed to us Alaskans want tourist $'s but really do not understand 'service'. Remember, Seward is tiny village and nowhere is far and be sure to check out the FREE shuttle that runs between Seward, the Visitors Centre/Safeways & Downtown Seward/Sea Life Centre. That is great service, we always put $1 or more in his jar.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davmar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly s, Director of Sales at The Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review It is appreciated, as we strive to make our guest happy. Our Motel owns a restaurant, Lounge and gift shops which are attached to the Motel, so that we may accommodate our guest with a full service property. We are sorry your experience did not go well and we will address issues that we are able to fix. Even though the Kenai Fjords office is across the street from our Motel, we are happy to drive guests there. Our local Market (Safeway) is more like 6 blocks away and we do have cab service if this is too far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was terrific! There was a slight mixup in our reservations, but the front desk staff was so polite and worked with us to get it fixed. She even gave us an upgrade to a newly remodeled room for free! She was just wonderful. The hotel is in the PERFECT location right on the marina where there is easy access to restaurants and shops. If we get to Alaska in the future, we definitely would like to come back here for a stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly s, Director of Sales at The Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback! It is always refreshing when People take the time to say nice things about your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

An excellent, central location in the heart of Seward, an easy walk to the train depot (altho they do provide a shuttle service too), a doable but not such great walk to the cruise ships (true of all the hotels here), and most other parts of Seward (especially close to most of the restaurants/bars you'll want to visit).

A basic kind of place. The room we had in the back annex (which beats the front part on the highway I would think) was generic and characterless, a step above Motel 6 but not by a lot, clean and comfortable enough, but no frills, to say the least. No breakfast, but a coffee maker in the room (which didn't work, but it was replaced when I left a note on it); my wife's a tea drinker, so wasn't thrilled that no tea bag was provided as well. Our train arrived early, so we had to check our bags, which was fine, but the staff seemed irritated when we had to ask them to open the storage room to retrieve an item or two for our days activities. Overall, the front desk staff seemed rushed and bothered to have to respond to our questions...certainly not gracious and welcoming, but we're talking generic motel here.

In Seward (basically a strip in a stunning natural setting, true of many Alaska towns), the Kenai Fjord tour is a must: one of the highlights of our trip, just stunning. For Exit Glacier, call the Exit Glacier Shuttle Service for a cheaper alternative to a tour ($10 round trip), as you don't need a tour for that. Ray's near the hotel is a good choice for drinks, with a great bar scene and open later than most places here, but the food was mediocre at best.

Bottom line with this place: great location, don't expect much (but then, you're not here for the room anyway, right?).

Room Tip: Annex in the back might be quieter than the front part, with a view of the mountains on one side, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly s, Director of Sales at The Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time for giving us a review. Aside from your experience with the front desk, Which is not common practice as we strive for a good first impression. We do appreciate feedback that is helpful to the new traveler. Your review is very helpful in that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here on a trip in 2012 and decided to stay here again in 2013. The room had new furniture and had been recently painted. It was clean and comfortable with cable television. The only negative was that the phone didn't work which would have been nice for a wake up call, but we managed with the alarm clock radio. You can't beat the location next to the harbor and the rates are reasonable. We will stay here again on future trips to Seward1

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in the older part of the hotel. It was clean. A bit small. They put us on the 3rd floor which is the only place with a bit of a view. Unfortunately the big hardware store in town blocks the view of the harbor. There is no air conditioning so we had to have the window open. Which was cool enough but very noisy with guests and delivery trucks, etc. We felt a bit insecure as the walkway is right outside the window at this point. It was a room to help keep the price down and ok if you just need a place to sleep. If you are hanging around Seward for awhile you might want to look into one of their nicer rooms in the newer addition. Based on the look of the lobby they are probably very nice. The service was excellent. Very friendly . They let us leave our rental car there while we took a day cruise even though we had checked out. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget check on the rooms in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAR845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breeze Inn

Address: 303 North Harbor, PO Box 2147, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £55 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breeze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Seward's Small Boat Harbor. With 86 modern and comfortable rooms to choose from, our lodging options include jacuzzi suites, fully accessible rooms, pet-friendly rooms and standard to deluxe accommodations available year-round. We also have a full service restaurant and lounge, 2 gift shops and espresso shop. Convenient, accommodating and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breeze Hotel Seward
Breeze Hotel Seward
The Breeze Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing