We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrity Cruise Line should not contract with them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Celebrity Cruise Line should not contract with them”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I understand that Alaska is remote and the hotels in some areas are few but Celebrity could have picked a better place to stay in Seward for our land tour. Our bathroom vanity was in the bedroom of all places and it was very dirty. The sheets were poor quality as were the pillows. The best thing about staying here was the restaurant in the morning of our departure. Great food and GREAT service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sylviafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    245
    106
    39
    11
See reviews for
200
277
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Very basic, almost primitive. The room's alarm clock didn't work and they did not have a replacement. I was told to request a wake-up call, which I did; and then called a half hour later to confirm.
I never received the wake-up call; It was logged-in but they never got around to it!
Fortunately the walls are so thin we heard every belch, snore, flush and grunt of our neighbors which did wake us up at 1 Am; 2 Am; 3 Am; 4 AM 5 Am.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Based on the photos and reviews we expected more than a basic hotel room. When we checked in and found out that our room was in the most noisy possible location. We requested a different room and were told that all other rooms were reserved for tour people. It made us realize that we did not have much priority even though we undoubtedly paid more for our room. As expected, he heard people going up and down stairs and overhead for much of our time in the room. Otherwise, the room was ordinary,nothing like we expected from the photos. The lodge, however, was beautiful and inviting.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor of a building- away from road, stairs and people walking overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redheadfamily
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Seward Windsong Lodge is a very nice looking lodge. Setting, landscape all top notch. Rooms are spacious and clean. Our only complaint is the comfort of the beds. Hard as a rock! We attempted to get out of our second nights stay to get a good night sleep but were not successful. The front desk were very sorry and provided us with two pads that we placed under our sheets which made the second night more bearable.

We don't know a lot about The Breeze Inn but it had a great location for a stay in Seward.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping bag for extra padding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Clean rooms with easy access. Great place to be based out of while visiting Seward. Close to Exit glacier and 10 minutes drive from Seward pier, Alaska sea life center and Safeway if you need to pick up something.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank manoj7698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a very positive experience at the Windsong. We did give consideration to the location, and expected it to be a wilderness experience, meaning that it was rustic and natural.The grounds are lovely, fitting for the locale, and many native plant species were in bloom during our visit. Our room was clean and freshly painted, had new light wood flooring, etc. We were very comfortable. We did spend a little time in the lodge, which was also pleasant and nicely appointed. Good little coffee corner, which matters to us. The fire in the fireplace was warm and inviting, but I do prefer a real wood fire... Staff was approachable, and eager to please, but not overly forward, which works for us. We ate at the restaurant on site, although we could have gone to town easily. The dinner experience was terrific - super fresh haddock and salmon, in a beautiful and tranquil setting with a phenomenal view! We experienced beautifully prepared and presented food, good wine, fresh bread to die for. Brunch was good, although the scrambled eggs were dry. The muffins were good, but scones not so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was clean and the location was great and had beautiful views.
The room needed some air and the staff was very courteous and provided us fan when asked. Larry the shuttle driver was also very good and helped us with tips on places to eat and see.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizintinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Property: Seward Windsong Lodge
Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing