We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have liked to stay another day.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi,India
Level Contributor
186 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Would have liked to stay another day.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was an unexpected pleasure . The rooms were comfortable, cosy, with a balcony and a view . The restaurant was once again cosy, comfy. The ambience, vibrations were good. One just wanted to hang around and chill for a while longer. Thought there would be no nice place to stay in Seward, that it would be similar to Whittier . But what a surprise awaited us

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    254
    112
    39
    12
See reviews for
217
289
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent two nights here in September. I loved that our room faced the woods.It was quiet, peaceful and really pretty. The buildings are set up so that they are scattered behind the building with the front desk. It seems very private. We stayed on the first floor and we never heard anyone upstairs. I thought we were alone in the building. Wrong! It was filled. So you need to know it is quiet. There are rock trails that you can walk on that lead back to the front desk building or to the restaurant. There were warnings about watching out for the bears because it is so wooded. Although we did not see any, you could see where they had wallowed through the undergrowth in the woods. Everything in our room looked brand new. The beds were comfy and we had a big sliding glass door to a covered private porch. Everything was spotless. The hotel had a shuttle that ran into town many times a day. So although this lodge was situated outside of downtown, it was easy to get back to town, eat and return to the lodge. We ate breakfast twice at the lodge restaurant. It was very good. They have all the basic breakfast food items and a good wait staff. The most spectacular thing about it is the view. Immediately across the road from the restaurant is a river and mountains. With every bite, you get to see the amazing scenery. There were eagles on the driftwood one day and a gorgeous double rainbow the next. The folks who worked there were all friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lou_louRome_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The lodge was airy. The room was spacious. I particularly like the divider between the living area and the beds. The fridge meant we could do breakfast in though there is a nice coffee bar in the lodge next to the computers. The staff was professional and the grill served good local cuisine with attentive wait staff. There is a shuttle to town though we did not use it. We stayed for four nights and everything was fine. From what we could see, it looks like the nicest place to stay in town. I can't really address the issue of amenities because we left in the early morning to hike or kayak or glacier walk and returned late in the day, isn't that what Alaska is for.

Room Tip: Downstairs is easier to get to but to avoid any risk of heavy footed guests, upstairs is probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The lodge is located outside of Seward in a beautiful area where wildflowers and beautiful scenery abound. There is a free shuttle service into the town of Seward which goes and comes frequently. The front desk was cordial and helpful at check-in. The lobby is quite comfortable and has a nice coffee bar where you can buy snacks and breakfasts in the morning. There is also a restaurant associated with the lodge. The food there was OK but not outstanding. Our room was clean and comfortable. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliPalosVerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A lovely hotel with very large rooms. The restaurant is excellent and the servers were friendly and very efficient. Ask for a room at the back for better views and more privacy. Also, if you can handle the stairs - get an upstairs room. I think the bottom floor would hear every footstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for better views and more privacy. Also, if you can handle the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
235 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This lodge is out from town, across from the Resurection River. It is made up of several different two story buildings spread about grounds. The pretty surroundings and rooms are kept up very well. It was a comfortable place to stay while on our Celebrity cruise tour. The food in the restaurant was very good and the servers were fun and very friendly. The lobby was very cosy with lots of grouped seating areas. There is a shuttle into town

Room Tip: Get a downstairs room since there are no elevators in any of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We enjoyed the view from the front of the lodge. Our unit was by the restaurant and parking was tight during dinner. Good thing most of the people came on a cruise ship so we could park the car most of the time. Staff was wonderful and friendly. The map of downtown really helped and the free shuttle service was a nice thing to have. The rooms were pretty clean but not perfect. Did not see any wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letitride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
937 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Property: Seward Windsong Lodge
Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing