We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay here”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel was nothing special as far as the rooms were concerned. No real view, but the rooms were clean. The real winner for this place was the staff. Of all the places we stayed, the staff at this hotel was heads above them all. Friendly, helpful, and personable. You are kind of stuck out and away from Seward with only a shuttle service to get you back and forth. My only complaint would be ,that they need to run their shuttle more than once an hour. If you miss the shuttle into town, you have to sit in an empty lobby with a snack bar (that isn't open all day), for an hour, waiting for the next one. It's too far to walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    253
    112
    39
    12
See reviews for
216
288
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We (my fiancee and her parents) stayed here the night prior to our cruise departing from Seward. This was a great lodge and change of pace from everyday hotels and only a couple miles or so away from the cruise ship dock. The rooms were clean and all the staff we came across were very personal and pleasant to work with. There is a shuttle that runs between "downtown" Seward and the Windsong Lodge, too, which was convenient. I would certainly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here 3 nights while exploring the Seward area. Rooms were like motel rooms, 2 double beds, sink/counter in the room and separate toilet/shower room. Heat in bath and room worked great. There was a small refrigerator, table and 2 chairs also and space for luggage and clothes. Plenty of counter space for toiletries. TV and channels worked fine. Plenty of places to recharge electronics. Pillows were terrible. They were about 10 inches high so you got a stiff neck. The rooms were not soundproof. They weren't full so I don't know why they kept putting families with children in the rooms right next to us.

I liked the location of this place. We had a car so we could easily drive out for dinner and up to Exit Glacier for a hike. The restaurant was very expensive so we didn't eat there. We used the free shuttle service into Seward before our cruise so we didn't have to pay to park the car in town. Service was reliable and nice to have. All the hotel people we interacted with were friendly and helpful. This is definitely a nice option if you want to stay out of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

pros: great TV with lots of channels. Rustic, but clean room. has shuttle to town (drivers are nice). Excellent food in restaurant (The Resurrection Roadhouse - had salmon and halibut). bed was 'ok'.

Odd: sink is WAY outside of bathroom.

Cons: not conveniently located, no laundry facilities, slammed my head on the bathroom shelf (it's right where you'll lean over to turn on bathtub), can really hear people upstairs. Worst coffee in room ever.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LWLinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Excellent in every aspect,remote location,mountian views,excellent
accomodations,large, appointed well,super clean,rustic...quiet, close to nature as you can get......Resurection Roadhouse Restaurant
5 stars...............excellent staff

Room Tip: If you are a Senior,request a first floor as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUART C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Rooms were large and well appointed with the rustic Alaskan theme. Lovely reception area with fire blazing. A bit far from Seward but with shuttle into town. Glacier further up the road. Quiet and private to recover from the day's activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel is a change of pace from other hotels. Most rooms are accessed by a small set of stairs to the first floor and another set to the second. Didn't see any elevators on any of the buildings. It was kind of a pain to lug your luggage to the second floor via a stair. Our room had a nice deck on the back with a table and chairs. This place is set in very quiet location away from Seward. The rooms were nothing special but clean and comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurant on site. We ate at the Salmon Bake which is in walking distance. I really liked downtown Seward and really wished I had picked a hotel in walking distance to some of the restaurants and sites downtown. Still a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The deck on the second floor is nice but you have to lug your luggage up there. If you not active ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gofishth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
932 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Property: Seward Windsong Lodge
Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing