We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Coto de Caza
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The lobby (a separate bldg from the lodges) of the Windsong is very nice, however, the room interiors are average, at best. Everything in Seward is overpriced in relation to what you get but I thought the Windsong was in particular not a good value. The Exit Glacier Lodge down the street was a much better value for similar accommodations.
Still, Seward is a great town to visit!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TAG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    245
    106
    39
    11
See reviews for
200
277
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
252 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our week long tour with Alaskan Tour Guides put us at the Windsong for one night while in Seward. I travel a lot on business and experience a variety of hotels across the US. My wife and I enjoyed our room at the Windsong, Location on Exit Glacier Rd is far enough off the Seward Highway to be quiet in a forested surrounding. River across the road from the lodge and nice mountain view beyond. Short walk to restaurant and main lodge had comfortable seating around a large fireplace. Great shuttle service to downtown Seward. Clean room and friendly staff. Nearby Exit Glacier in Kenai Fjords National Park is worth the visit too. We'd stay there again.

Gary W - Chicago

Room Tip: Further back behind the lodge is quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our lodging at the Windsong was part of a package arranged thur Alaska Tour & Travel, the lodge was great, wonderful location, scenery and accommodations. Also included in our package was a bus tour that included lunch at the Resurrection Roadhouse, Exit Glacier, Downtown Seward and Seavey's Sled Dog Tour. The Seavey's REALLY made you feel that they were truly appreciative of choosing to visit their facility. Everything about this tour was exceptional but of special note was our tour driver Joe Allen, like the Seavey's, he made you feel like you were his best friend and he wanted to share his love of Alaska with you.

Room Tip: Consider a ground floor room, lugging the suitcases up the stairs can be challenging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It lives up to the internet pictures - very clean, nice private deck, quiet, very friendly and helpful staff! Within five minutes of town, located in the woods with Resurrection River across the road. The Seavey IdidaRide Sled Dog Tour and Exit glacier are just down the road also.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This lodge was nice... not over the top... but a good place to stay in Seward. It's off the beaten track, so not much noise. The restaurant was fine... again not exceptional... but good for breakfast. They do close the buffet breakfast fairly early. In the summer, it would probably do well if the buffet was served for another hour. Staff was friendly and service oriented.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Amazing location, just down the road from Exit Glacier. 2 minutes drive from town. Lovely big rooms, triple available with Jacuzzi, nice treat after a long cold day. Joining restaurant expensive, better flood available in town. Highly recommend the 'Smoke Shack' (disused rail car) down by the railroad station, incredible breakfasts and food all day. Would highly recommend the full day boat trip (Salt Water) and river rafting on the Kenai river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56Anna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This one is a little bit farther from the town but we figured out that it worked very well for us.

The 2 bed queen room was very good. We stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The room was big and spacious. It was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The carpet was clean. The bathrooms were nice and clean.

Seward is a beautiful town with so much to see and so much to do. I doubt it that anyone would be spending any time after sunrise in your hotel room. But when someone gets back and wants to rest in the night, this one is one of the best places in the town. There is a sitting place just outisde the rooms where me and my wife shared a glass of wine looking at the river. Its calm and quite during the night so you can have a wonderful rest and get ready to explore the next day.

There is salmon bake restaurant right next to it and has another restaurant as well. This one is on the road that goes to exit glacier so you can start exploring right away.

The one thing that did not let me put an excellent rating to this property was because of the thermostat not working. It was a late august week but it was unbelievably warm. We really appreciate the gentleman at the front desk who immediately brought us a fan on request.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
891 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
525 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Property: Seward Windsong Lodge
Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing