We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service level with scheduled transportation to downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here even though we were not close to town or to where we would be boarding our ship - The Statendam. Front desk staff was very service oriented and the free transportation to downtown was great. We took the shuttle into town on Saturday night for dinner and Mass and even though we could have taken shuttle back, we stayed a bit longer than we had planned and took a $10 cab ride back. There's also a great Greek/Italian restaurant in town!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
There are newer reviews for Seward Windsong Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Seward Windsong Lodge was just an ok hotel, which was a little disappointing because we were on our honeymoon and would have liked to stay in a little nicer place with an Alaskan feel. Our hotel room could have been anywhere in the country. It was clean, but nothing special. We could park in front of it, which was a nice bonus. I was disappointed that they put us in two double beds, because, as noted, it was our honeymoon.

Alaska Tour and Travel booked us here and said it was their nicest place in Seward, so I was disappointed. We stayed in Aven building on the first floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice lodge - the decor is in keeping with the surrounding environment. The Resurrection roadhouse is a great restaurant with beautiful views. The property is a little outside the town of Seward but there is a free shuttle service every 30 minutes in the summer. They also take the baggage if you arrive by train from Anchorage so you can go directly to downtown without having to check in first.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I agree with other reviewers that the location is very nice. There are six or so different buildings separated from the lobby. Each building has a name - ours was Salmonberry. It was located far in the back with woods in the rear. We loved that. There are no elevators. We paid extra for a "deck." This is a wooden porch with 2 chairs outside the sliding glass doors-like a balcony. Take note that there is no air conditioning and no fan. We were very hot! Also, although the Windsong advertises free Wifi, it is really only available in the lobby. The sink is located in the room right beside the beds ...NOT in the bathroom. Most unusual. If you get up in the night to use the bathroom & then wash your hands, it is likely you will disturb those still sleeping. Finally, you may or may not be happy to know smoking is allowed on the front porch area of each building. Since the bathrooms face those porches, the smoke smell came right in. Alaska smoking regulations are very different from the lower 48.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terriberry54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is located outside of Seward BUT the hotel provides a shuttle that picks up every hour at the small boat harbor and at the Sealife center. The view from the hotel is great. We stayed in a 2-bed room with a deck. You don't need a deck-the mosquitos will eat you up. Each unit is located some distance from the lobby. We had to pull our luggage through rather muddy paths to get to our room. The bathroom is small: toilet and shower. The sink is located in the bedroom. No closet for your clothes-just a bar by the door. The bar menu for dinner was good. The food was priced similar to all Alaska restaurants: a bit pricey. Wi-Fi does not exist in the room. Wi-Fi is available in the restaurant and in the lobby.

Room Tip: do not pay extra for a deck: lots of mosquitos prevent use of the deck.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When we arrived at the train depot in Seward at 11:00 a.m, we were discouraged from going back to the hotel "because our room would not be ready and we wouldn't want to sit in the lobby for 4 or more hours because check in was at 3:00". They did take our luggage back to the hotel. We did manage to go back to the hotel around 1:30, we did ask about our room and it was looked up and we were promptly told that our room was not ready and that check in was at 3:00. So we waited for about an hour, than another employee asked if anyone was waiting to get into a room, we said we were and we were promptly given a room (before 3:00). When we got to the room, there was no battery in the smoke detector, they came and put a new battery in as soon as we called the front desk. The person (who put the battery in) asked if it was beeping and we said "there was no battery in it". So I was a little disappointed that we had to wait over an hour to get into a room that, in my opinion, was available before well 3:00 and at the far end of the property.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheGrahamsScituateRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family enjoyed a two-room, two-night stay at the Seward Windsong. As compared to other 'Standard' hotels/rooms we found the SW to be above average in most offerings.

The good: The lobby and common areas were large, clean, and accommodating. The coffee kiosk in the lobby was a nice sight. The rooms were spacious and clean. There plenty of outlets to charge things. The bathroom was split; with commode and shower in one room and the sink out in the main room - this was helpful when 4 people were making the rounds of getting ready. We enjoyed a dinner at the very walkable Resurrection Roadhouse restaurant next door. Prices were a bit high, but the food and service was good.

The only cons that really stand out were that the floors and walls carry sound from other rooms. There was someone in the room above us that sounded like they were pacing the floor all night. At this point there's not a lot the SW can do about it, YMMV. The other con is that the fitted sheets on the beds were too small! It was as if they were trying to stretch a full/double sheet onto a queen bed. Nothing more frustrating that getting wrapped up in a mess o'sheets in the middle of the night. Why can't hotels get sheets that fit?!

All-in-all the SW provided exactly what was needed for our group during our Seward stay. Others have mentioned the shuttle into the "city". It is very convenient and we found the drivers accommodating in an extra "along-the-line" stop (to visit Le Barn Appetit crepery!!!).

Seavy's Ididaride and Exit Glacier are very nearby and worth visiting.

I would recommend this place for others travelling in the area.

Room Tip: As mentioned above - a ground floor room is great for getting in and out, but you may be at the merc...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
580 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,081 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
154 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing