We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now This Is Alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level Contributor
240 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Now This Is Alaska”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

What a setting! Gorgeous riverside location with mountains looming. With a background of pine forest and flowing river, it could hardly be improved upon.

To top it off, the Lodge has been designed to fit right into the setting. Small (12 unit or so) two story log structures are scattered through the property. Yet the rooms were remarkably spacious (yes, they certainly figured you wouldn't be spending much time in the bathroom so they didn't waste any square footage there!)

High quality coffee drinks are available early in the morning at the lobby and any meal at the Resurrection Restaurant next door is worth it.

We had the advantage of having a vehicle so we could be flexible with our schedule. I suppose being a couple of miles out of town could be a disadvantage for some but in our case, it was just perfect.

The only idyl spoiling aspect to the setting was that the road between the Lodge and river was fairly heavy with traffic. But shucks, we had to get there too!

True the price is high but what do you expect in a short season location such as Seward.
Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    254
    112
    39
    12
See reviews for
217
289
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The Seward Windsong lodge was a very nice place to stay while in Seward. It was close to town, but not in town. It was also just a few miles up the road from Exit Glacier (they offer tours from the hotel - I went on one and it was worth it). The restaurant attached to the hotel (resurrection restaurant) had very good food (the bar/bistro menu more reasonably priced). The rooms were very clean - however it was a bit warm the days I stayed there and you really can't regulate the temperatures in the room very well - but the front desk delivered a fan which worked out fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolvesongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avinger
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed at the Windsong Lodge the first night after leaving our cruise. The room was extremely clean. We loved sitting on the little porch with our friends and enjoying the peace and quiet as well as the great smell of the pines. The restaurant has, by far, the best burgers we have EVER had!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnAvinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Our stay at this hotel was part of a cruisetour through Alaska with Holland America. The location is fantastic. The hotel is spread out through the property, and you are surrounded by the forest. On the down side, you need their shuttle (or a car) to get anywhere, and the shuttle only runs every hour. The Exit Glacier, we were told, is close enough, but the trail was closed.
Holland America managed to loose one of our suitcases (yes, it was properly labeled). The staff at the Lodge did their best to help out, even though this was absolutely not their fault. We did not get the suitcase until the next day in Anchorage, but again this was HAL's fault.
The rooms were OK, not great. They were spacious and very clean. The bathroom especially was a bit disappointing (small, thin towels). The hotel is extremely quiet. There is wireless internet available.
Unless you have a car or you are willing to wait for the shuttle, your only choice is dining at the Resurrection Restaurant, which we did. The food is pricey, but it is truly excellent: creative recipes, high quality ingredients, very well executed. The wait was a bit long, but what we consistently experienced in a cruise in mid-May is that much of the staff is new and untrained. It's either dealing with that, pr dealing with higher prices and crowds, and overall we were pretty happy.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

After exploring Alaska in an RV for a week, we stayed in this hotel for three nights at the end of our trip. We needed more space and confort at night.

The hotel is spread in many clusters, we stayed at the Goldenrod. There is a lot of nature around the hotel and a calm river flows across the road. We enjoyed the location although you need to drive to the town.

It is also located close to the Exit Glacier. People who intend to spend most of the time in this area should consider the Windsong.

If you enjoy jogging/running, the road that leads to the Glacier is flat, shady and allows good views of the surroundings.

In the park we were able to see one black bear and one bald eagle very close when we were hiking. We did not see these animals in Denali and Valdez, our previous stops.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromAuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel during our land tour part of Royal Carribean cruise/land tour of Alaska. This hotel was so clean and neat. It had a nice restaurant, with good food. We only stayed 2 nights, but I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d&bsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

I highly recommend the Windsong Lodge in Seward Alaska to anyone looking for quite beauty, comfortable accomodations, great food, and exceptional service. From the Front Desk check in, all the way to our parting breakfast, my wife and I experienced nothing but top knotch "Alaskan Style" hospitality and service. Even though our visit was at the very end of the quite hectic Alaska tourist season, everyone we encountered was pleasant, courteous and went that extra mile to make our visit special. The quiet beauty of the well kept grounds with Sitka Spurce and wildflowers everywhere added a mystical touch to a wonderful stay. The "no frills" rooms were clean, comfortable, and had that touch that made you feel as if you were staying at a first rate wilderness lodge but with all the conveniences of being just a few minutes out of the port of Seward. If you happen to be anywhere near the Kenai Penninsula, Windsong is a "must see, must experience" stop along your journey. You will not be disappointed. We will definately be back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Raven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
937 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Property: Seward Windsong Lodge
Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing