We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again...really liked the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seward Windsong Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was a cool place in that it was made up of mulitple lodges spread across a property. We had a view of the river and mountains and I really enjoyed it. The room was clean, well kept and looked fairly new. It didn't have the feel of a standard room, decoration was done with a natural pine motif that fit the location. The location was close to Seward but not on foot, you had to take a bus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rissad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed at the lodge for two nights. Great place and location. Rooms weren't incredible, but the location and feel when you look outside are worth it. Only a few minutes from bustling Seward, but you get the feel that your really in the wilderness. Short drive, or walk, to Exit Glacier. Only negative was the lack of a fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dp0rter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel has a great location, and the view from the restaurant is terrific. However, the rooms have no view (except the trees next to the window). It is new and the rooms are fine, but not at all special. For the price (about $250 per night), one might expect more -- perhaps a decent view. The beds are extremely firm.
For the price, you could get a great view at some of the places in town.
The adjoining restaurant has very good food and a good wine list, but the service is by young people who lack training and oversight.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ringhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

As stated in the other reviews, the location is fantastic and the views incredible. But if you pay $300 and expect a $300 room, you'll be dissapointed. The rooms have very few ammenenties, the water pressure was weak and the temperature luke warm, and if you are on the first floor it seems that everyone above you is practicing their own Lord of the Dance routine. Plus I'm guessing about a dozen buses a day pull-up and drop off their noisy loads. Beds were uncomfortable, and nothing seems set-up for just a couple away for a weekend.

The restaurant, however, is fantastic. Even if you stay somewhere else in Seward, you should eat at the Resurrection Roadhouse.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Windsong Lodge is a couple of miles outside of Seward in the most beautiful setting. Our first morning there we sat down to breakfast and looked across the road to the riverbed to see a moose and her calf walking down the river. The rooms are small but very nice. The restaurant on the property was great but a little pricey. And the staff was really helpful in terms of directions, suggestions, etc. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardinalsFan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This was a great place to stay in the Summer. I feel the winter it wouldnt be so great as the rooms are part of seperate cabins. The rooms were new and clean. The staff was nice and friendly.

The only main complaint is they don't offer pull away beds. Only "mats." It was pretty uncomfortable. I was with my extended family and sharing a bed is out of the question and another room was too because the rooms were part of a package deal though a family members company. They do need to work on getting some roll away beds for the larger familys.

All in all, it was a great experience and if i make it to alaska i would stay there again.

I also really enjoyed the resturant that the lodge owns as well. The food was great (the local seafood was amazing)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96GreenMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

When you look at this hotel on the web it looks like the rooms are along a river. Actually only the dining room fronts the river. The rooms are clean and functional but certainly not 5 star. There are a lot of tours that come into this hotel. Busload after busload.
The staff was great. All very friendly. The food in the restaurant was really good as well. Had a delicious dinner and breakfast. Not much to see or do in Seward except for the glacier tours.
This hotel is fine and the setting is pretty, though not as remote as I had anticipated. It is probably the best for the area just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £126 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seward Windsong Lodge by Pursuit offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward
Seward Windsong Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing