We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night of the trip”
Review of Sauerdough Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sauerdough Lodging
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This adorable little lodge is in the heart of town, close to shops ,restaurants and the aquarium. Everything was clean and very comfortable. We had the little red apartment. My husband and I both loved it here. Owners are not on the premises, but they respond quickly to text and email. I will stay here again. Compared to other prices in town, this is a bargain.

Room Tip: If you're on the alley, beware of the seagulls and the dumpster. Those crazy birds love that dum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The location is great but there were many negatives to this place. We spent one night in apartment 4. As we were 4 people I expected to find two beds made up. To my surprise this was not the case and after a very long day of travelling to Seward we then had to make the second bed. The floors were extremely creaky. The main bed was very unstable as the slats kept on slipping out of place and my husband found himself on the floor several times during the night. The bathroom was tiny and the bath was full of rust.
The kitchen did not have a kettle or coffee maker despite being advertised as a fully equipped kitchen.
This place is not for the elderly or for people who have problems climbing stairs as no elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dggRa_anana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauerdough225, Owner at Sauerdough Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us- we really appreciate the feedback. We are a new business, having just opened our doors this summer. Being new, we definitely have some kinks to work out, and reviews such as this help us to do so.

All of our apartments sleep two people by default. We can accommodate extra guests in each place on either pull-out couches or futons. Since the futons double as a couch during the day, it isn't possible to have them made up with bedding beforehand, but we keep the extra bedding in the apartment, ready for our guests to use if needed. We have also found that many parties with more than two guests do not let us know ahead of time that they have extra people in their party, so we are unable to anticipate the sleeping needs. We do our best to fulfill special requests if we know about them in advance.

Our building is over 100 years old and is creaky, and we find that charming. It has survived numerous earthquakes, including the big one in '64. Such history in Alaska is rare, and sharing this unique building with travelers is one reason why we decided to open our doors to guests this summer. Most of the flooring in the apartments is original, and we have worked hard to preserve it whenever possible.

We are sorry to hear about the bed- it is a new slat-style bed, and apparently the slats are not staying put. If we had been aware of the problem when it happened, we would have come right over to fix it.

The claw foot tubs are over 100 years old, and some discoloration is common. They are thoroughly cleaned with each check-out, however, and we are looking into having them re-enameled this winter.

When we first opened for business, we didn't think coffee makers or kettles were necessary because we also operate a coffee shop on the first floor, and we give each of our guests a complimentary $5 coupon per day to use at the coffee shop. We have received several requests for these items, however, and will be adding them to each of our kitchens this fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was glad to have a room in the historic part of Seward for the night. I felt a lot of old spirits running around. This is a great location with many other historic structures in the neighborhood. Bring eye shades and earplugs for the night, as with the windows open it is near several pubs and thus the loud noises in the alley. Comfortable beds, linens and pillows.

I thought the room we stayed in with the kitchenette was cute and very nicely decorated with squeaky but beautiful hardwood floors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Such a quaint place to stay. Rooms are upstairs from the diner right in the middle of town. Meredith was welcoming and helpful to make our stay a positive one. Only negative was no room darkening shades. If you are not from Alaska and no used to the sun being out at 11:00 pm, sleep was problematic.

Definitely would recommend this establishment for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sólo conocemos el Sunrise Suite, pero es bueno para el precio que tiene (en Seward)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creatingclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauerdough225, Owner at Sauerdough Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
0 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauerdough Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauerdough Lodging

Address: 225 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £68 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sauerdough Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic building in the heart of Seward's downtown business district, Sauerdough Lodging offers modern amenities paired with historic charm in each of our five fully furnished apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sauerdough Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauerdough Lodging Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing