We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Sauerdough Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sauerdough Lodging
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We initially tried to book rooms at The Holiday Inn. Boy are we glad in hindsight that they were already full. We stumbled across this place via an Internet search. We had no idea what to expect. What a great rental. We had the Sunrise Suite (Apartment 1) for two nights. It was meticulously clean, well decorated and comfortable. And it was within a 15 minute walk to te harbor. Vouchers were provided for the bakery located on the first floor of the building, which was also good. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Sunrise Suite should be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our overnight apartment was the perfect place for our family. Loved that it had a kitchen and multiple beds, and the bathroom was updated nicely. We found the owner right downstairs in the coffee shop where we got wonderful goodies and checked internet after a week on a cruise. We highly recommend breakfast or lunch at the cafe. It's neat the way they've preserved the feel of the old building while making it a nice place to stay. We appreciated how accommodating Matt was on check in and out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We drove from Anchorage to Seward after midnight, so it was good to land in a place that met our needs perfectly. We stayed in apartment #3, Wilderness with two adults and two kids (ages 11 and 13). Plenty of space so that we weren't on top of each other. Bed was comfortable, suite was clean and smelled fine. Curtains blocked the light, which we learned was important during the summer months! We were within walking distance to breakfast (downstairs to the coffee shop ext door both days because the kids like it so much) and dinner (brewery down the street). Proprietor was easy to communicate with via email, and everything worked smoothly. Definitely recommend it for others, and that's from someone who usually chooses to stay in larger, chain hotels. This was a unique property that was well run, and in an excellent location.

Room Tip: The Wilderness Room was quiet, though you could occasionally hear people talk in the hallways. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This apartment in what we were told is the oldest building in Alaska, sits on top of a coffeehouse on Seward's main street, and used to be a brothel, we're told. It's a great location close to the harbor and places of interest. It was very spacious, very nicely appointed. Great color choices in design, spacious rooms, full size kitchen. Only negative was the full flight of stairs we had to drag luggage up and down, but small price to pay. We had some issues with the locks on the doors, but they were promptly handled by the owners, who are on site for the most part. Definitely recommend over your typical tourist motel/hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

With a family of five which included grandpa, we took a chance staying in Apartment 1 instead of renting two hotel rooms. We are glad we did! Room was just as described online, the owner was easy to contact by e-mail and we loved the history of the building and area. Since it is right downtown, we took a nice walk to the waterfront after dinner and saw a sea otter. In the morning we ate downstairs at the Sea Bean. The food there was a great change from the heavy buffets we had the last couple days. My husband loved the breakfast wrap and they accommodated two of my family members by making them lunch items for breakfast. Nice people, clean and convenient. There were a few minor things since the building is older like slanting floors, but we enjoyed the charm. I think they did a great job restoring the building.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a wonderful visit at Sauerdough Lodge May 2014. We stayed there just prior to our cruise departure. The lodge was wonderful (loved the history) and the customer service was awesome. All of the hard work on restoring and maintaining the lodge was well worth it - - it is beautiful.

The Café downstairs was great also. The food and drinks were very good and the relaxed atmosphere was awesome. They thought of so many things to add to our comfort and enjoyment (extra outlets for electronics, Wi-Fi, board games, magazines, etc.). And again the service was wonderful. And they even took the time to share some of the lodge and local stories with us.

We will be sure to stay there again when we return to Seward.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

All I can say to anyone looking for lodging in Seward, Alaska is to call these folks and book a room today. Not only do you get the lodging but you'll also get daily coupons for coffee and food downstairs at their fabulous little eatery, The Seabean Cafe.

Room Tip: I looked at all of them. They all have pluses. Tell Meredith what your wish list is and let her choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voltima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauerdough Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauerdough Lodging

Property: Sauerdough Lodging
Address: 225 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sauerdough Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic building in the heart of Seward's downtown business district, Sauerdough Lodging offers modern amenities paired with historic charm in each of our five fully furnished apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sauerdough Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauerdough Lodging Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing