We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family afternoon”

Turning Heads Kennel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.06*
and up
Kennel Tour and Dog Sled Ride
More Info
US$199.00*
and up
Helicopter Glacier Landing
More Info
US$440.00*
and up
60 Minute Scenic Flight over Kenai Fjords and Chugach National Forest
Ranked #12 of 53 Tours in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are two mushers - Travis Beals & Sarah Stokey - who share a passion for dog sledding, the Iditarod sled dog race, & story telling. Come meet our dogs, play with our puppies, and learn a little bit about Alaska's state sport before going for a fun dog sled ride. Our tours are kept small, customized to your groups needs, and are very hands on. We look forward to meeting you!
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family afternoon”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We deliberately chose Turning Heads over the more touristy option and were so glad we did.
Travis' enthusiasm is matched by his dogs' and they gave us a great time. We got to hold young puppies as we sat around the outdoor fireplace. Travis explained the equipment he uses with the dogs and we got a great insight into what's required to compete in the Iditarod. He's working to become the youngest Iditarod champion so it will be great to watch him go for it!

A dog team was hitched up ready to go and the dogs couldn't wait to get going. They were about to pull well over 500kg of wheeled sled and passengers, yet you could feel the sled straining at its anchor (and it was tied to a tree as well!). With the command the dogs dug deep and got us moving fast. Our kids couldn't stop laughing from excitement. Seeing how quickly the dogs responded to Travis' commands was amazing.

Travis' love for the dogs, and theirs for him was obvious.
We had an excellent experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    4
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My family had a fantastic time visiting with Iditarod musher Travis Beals at his Turning Heads kennel. Travis told us all about his sled dogs while we toured the kennel and we got to meet these amazing animals. While the dogs are capable of strength and endurance surpassing human athletes they are also playful, loving pets. The love between Travis and his dogs was very clear and they really do function as a team with their lives depending upon each other while they are on the race course.

We got to hold a few of his three week old puppies and play with many of his dogs. Travis explained that sled dogs, like our pets at home, want to please their humans and a lot of work goes into socializing them to make them the super friendly dogs you will see when you visit him. Our family was lucky to have a personal tour and we learned all about the Iditarod including seeing the gear mushers use on the road. The highlight was riding a cart pulled by the dogs. We all grinned ear to ear as we traveled through the forest training paths on Travis' property.

I highly recommend a visit to Turning Heads kennel if you are in the Seward area. It is one of the highlights of out Alaska vacation and its sure to be an experience that will last a lifetime.

A big thank you to Travis for sharing this part of his life with us... We will be cheering for you in the Iditarod in March!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank giantsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We had so much fun!!!! There were all of these dogs in bright colored dog houses. We sat by an outdoor fireplace and held the cute pups. The dog sled ride was a blast. My kids laughed the whole time. Did not have the cruise ship crowd. They go to the other one in town. Awesome!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best money I spent at Seward, AK”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Definitely recommend it to anyone traveling in the Seward area. Travis would teach you anything everytnink about musher's life. I have a great experience looking the Iditariod equipment and puppies. Travis THANK YOU!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosa_00603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draveil, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If there's only one it's this one !”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the best experience of our Alaskan vacations ! Fits every one from kids to adults. It's the opportunity to learn about mushers' life. Travis is very friendly and very comprehensive with the kids. The experience starts with a close look at the equipment and the dogs (even the 1 week old puppies !). The run with the car sledge enables to get a good insight of how the dogs and the musher work together !
All the family enjoyed every seconds of this experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piere d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Turning Heads Kennel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing