We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area, BUT. . .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stoney Creek RV Park
Ranked #21 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice area, BUT. . .”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were there for one night only and really enjoyed the site. Not a great view of the creek unless you are out of the RV standing on the edge of the creek bank. It is a beautiful area though. Built a fire in pit right at the site and weren’t attacked by mosquitoes which was a real treat. If you have the opportunity, check out the sculpture across the creek on the deck of a house at the far end of the park. Best seen with binoculars. It looks like the artist used a tree stump and roots to create an incredible octopus and halibut. Very creative.
The office staff was very nice and helpful. The showers were clean, spacious and warm.
Now for the ‘But’. A young guy drove up to the office with his boom-box on ear-splitting volume at 4:30 A.M. Quite a rude awakening! He left it blaring while he ran into the office and then was gone. It didn’t last long . . . just long enough to make certain you were wide awake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelover820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclecorey73, Manager at Stoney Creek RV Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Sorry about the noise issue. That was our wonderful paperboy, Thank You Anchorage Daily News! We actually told them not to deliver anymore after complaining to them multiple times with nothing done about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
25
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south WI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our 2wker thru AK. It was perhaps one of the nicest RV Parks that we stayed at. Bathrooms and showers were clean, office staff was OK. We had one of the sites along the river, but we were clearly separated by a large berm a some bushes/scrub brush. Perhaps the best part, was that their Wifi actually covered us without interruptions like other RV Parks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank appalachiantrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a nice park...with one exception...the fotos show a great stream that you can see from the front row of the park and it is NOTHING like this...there are actually plants that hide the entire stream! They are 6ft high and fully bushed out....so it was a big disappointment. The tv and the internet are the best we have had in the past 6 weeks travelling Canada and Alaska so it is a great place for a long stay. If I was here without my tver husband I would have gone for the fantastic view at the city site. That place is number one for views~absolutely fab.

Room Tip: There are no cabins att
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NonaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Many Canadian and Alaska RV places seem to be an acre of gravel, with electrical hook ups. This place is nice. River near by, showers good, big giant mountains in view. Nice management. PLUS free wifi that actually works. CAUTION: IF you use a Tom tom or Garmin GPS thing, it'll take you to their old address across the highway. So check out their web directions and don't rely on your GPS.

Room Tip: This isn't a hotel. So my room rating doesn't matter. No swimming pool or fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeAnnz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I liked staying out of town and in the "woods". Other guests were friendly and we were all eagle watching together. The shuttles from town came out to pick us up and would let you ride into town even if you were not going on their tour. The park had a shuttle to take you to the market, into town or pick-up in town if you needed a ride back. The people running the park were friendly and helpful. The park was well groomed and the spaces were good sized. The restrooms and laundry area were clean. They could have used more than two washers and dryers. Some of the best wi-fi connections and tv in any of the other parks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Stoney Creek. The sites are huge and well equipped with all the "full service" needs for an RV hook-up. (If you do decide to hook up the satellite coax cable, you will need a Female to Female coax turnaround adapter. Some sites had them, some didn't) As others said, you will need to reserve a "creekfront" site in order to have a campfire. Those sites have campfire rings provided. They have all the services you would expect; free un-timed showers (which were very clean), coin laundry, wi-fi, TV, water and sewage at site. Now, the 'creek' that runs in between the campground and the residential is technically a creek, but of glacial melt. So there will not be any fishing in it. As we were there pretty early in the spring, the trees and bushes were still in the budding stage, but I could tell that once they all opened up, you will not even be able to see those residential homes at all. Some pretty strategic landscaping on Stoney Creek's part. The views from the campground were some of the nicest we had seen on our trip as well. Also, they do offer a shuttle in and out of town; just coordinate ahead of time. The people who ran the place were very friendly as well. Great place that we would stay at again if ever in Seward.

Room Tip: Sites A1 thru A23 are the "creekfront" sites; all sites are a 30 second walk to the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MungFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

2 hrs 20 mins / 120.73 miles from anchorage
This was our first stop after leaving Anchorage, it's a pretty park and you have to stay in the deluxe spots by the river to have a camp fire, keep in mind you really cannot see the river. $40 for a night, full hook ups and free showers. We picked the park because it was away from Seward and we had a free pick up for the cruise we were taking the next day. We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: Remember you have to pick a spot by the river to have a fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
12.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
0.2 mi away
Bear Creek Cabins
Bear Creek Cabins
#15 of 44 in Seward
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
0.6 mi away
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
#2 of 46 in Seward
341 reviews
7.8 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek RV Park

Property: Stoney Creek RV Park
Address: 13760 Leslie Place, PO Box 1548, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15 acres, 6 miles north of the hustle and bustle of downtown Seward, our full service park is a wonderful place to come home to after a busy day fishing and sightseeing in Seward. Sit back, relax, watch cable TV, stroll along the creek, take a hot shower, do your laundry, make a campfire in designated spots. All our sites are 30 feet wide, allowing ample room for slide outs and even room to park your truck or car. Most sites are at least 50 feet long, and all are equipped with power (some 50 amp), water, and Sat TV. 68 Sites have sewer and 38 have phone jacks. We CAN accommodate the big rigs! Creekside sites have firepit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek RV Park Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing