We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nice location, but not clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stoney Creek RV Park
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok, nice location, but not clean”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This rv park is a little hard to find but nicely located a few miles out of Seward along a creek. The sites are decent and you have a choice on price/amenities. Which is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to get our cable working. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets for each restroom... All in one room.. I prefer a little more privacy, but still bigger than an rv. The laundry facility is nice with 4 washers and 4 dryers. Unfortunately, even though there are signs stating they close between noon and 1 pm for cleaning... I think all they do is empty the trash. We stayed for 3 nights and I know the toilettes were not cleaned during that time. Overall, if I found a cleaner bathroom in the area, I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CLTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    30
    12
    11
    1
See reviews for
26
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a big step up from the typical Alaskan gravel parking area. The spots are wide enough to do slide outs and set up the awning, and long enough too. Most of the spaces are pull through, which is nice. The restrooms are mostly clean, but can get backed up at the typical morning and bedtime times of day. Staff was very friendly and we had a good experience here. I'd come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geneatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We parked our truck and camper at the far edge so we had a nice grass lawn outside our door that bordered on a path next to the creek. Lots of excellent photo ops here including the absolutely incredible wood carving that was immediately across the creek from where we were parked. The caretaker and managers were friendly and helpful and the place was very well maintained.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoie_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent 2 days here in early July, after the 4th. For Alaska, It's your average RV gravel parking lot (not any screening between sites). Our site came with a full hook-up and cable. We were quite a ways up in the upper lot, but didn't have any problems with the wifi.

My only complaint about the campground concerned staff communications. We heard that the main sewer line was blocked. The common shower/bathroom building was locked, but no one received a note explaining what was happening nor was there any thing posted on the vacant office door. I asked a backhoe operator, who was digging a big hole near the dump station, if we could continue using our individual sewage hook-up to which he replied he appreciated if we didn't! That was the extent of the communications about the problem. The following day, I guess they solved the problem, don't know we never heard, but the shower/restroom building was open. I realize this was probably a rare occurrence, but the staff should have been better at communicating with those camping there.

Although this campground is a distance out of town, both the campground (on a limited basis) and at least one Kenai Fjord tour boat operator provided shuttle service to and from town.

Room Tip: This place is out of town and no visitor services are close by.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sourdough_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a pretty nice place, the cable tv has 12 channels, the wi-fi is as bad as I've seen it., even sitting next to the office. The rest rooms and showers were clean. the laundry is small for the amount of users but seemed to work well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When we arrived the workers inside were smoking. What a terrible site. We asked for the senior discount since my husband is a senior. I (wife) was asked to go get my husband so he could show his license to show proof. My husband has cancer & told them that he can't be around people that are smoking. They were so rude! They proceeded to tell me to get his license which I did. Finally they gave me the discount. The place is run down & the people that run it are not professionals.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy01Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclecorey73, Manager at Stoney Creek RV Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We do not smoke in our office. We ask everyone for thier ID when requesting a senior or a military discount. And all of our staff behaves in a professional manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, CA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very nice and clean RV park within an easy drive to Seward. This is a quiet, clean and nicely laid out RV park, and the internet works. While doing our thing in Seward the park worked out great for doing our laundry and getting caught up on those little things that accumulate while RVing. Very pretty area, with a stream, fire pits and bears, so they say. Good place to stay with space to spare.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billb1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
544 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
12.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nauti Otter
Nauti Otter
#6 of 45 in Seward
181 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
7.8 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek RV Park

Property: Stoney Creek RV Park
Address: 13760 Leslie Place, PO Box 1548, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15 acres, 6 miles north of the hustle and bustle of downtown Seward, our full service park is a wonderful place to come home to after a busy day fishing and sightseeing in Seward. Sit back, relax, watch cable TV, stroll along the creek, take a hot shower, do your laundry, make a campfire in designated spots. All our sites are 30 feet wide, allowing ample room for slide outs and even room to park your truck or car. Most sites are at least 50 feet long, and all are equipped with power (some 50 amp), water, and Sat TV. 68 Sites have sewer and 38 have phone jacks. We CAN accommodate the big rigs! Creekside sites have firepit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek RV Park Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing