We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Seward Birdhouse and famous Mount Marathon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seward Birdhouse and famous Mount Marathon
Mount Marathon and Race Point, site of world famous Mt Marathon Race Bald Eagle shingle art on front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Seward Birdhouse and famous Mount Marathon
Mount Marathon and Race Point, site of world famous Mt Marathon Race
Bald Eagle shingle art on front
East deck and flowers
Full kitchen
full kitchen with gas range, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster,  dishwasher
Cheery dining area with view of beautiful Mt Alice
Cheery dining area
comfy leather couch, host photography
free front loader washer and dryer
queen bed, room darkening curtains and shades, luggage racks, reading lamps
wrought-iron spiral stairs to loft
twin beds, room-darkening shades, reading lamps, rocking chair
desk, luggage racks, books and toys
twin beds and desk
business card
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Seward, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JHJHGC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at The Birdhouse, Seward. When "home" we spent most of our time sitting at the dining room table looking at the views of Resurrection Bay and the snow capped mountains. The Birdhouse is a quiet, cosy, comfortable, clean cottage with a very comfortable bed and very practical bathroom. The folders of (a) instructions on household equipment etc and (b) Places to Eat & Things to Do are the best we've seen. We really enjoyed the walks around Exit Glacier & Harding Icefield & strolling along the bay seeing a whale, otters & seals. The SeaLife Centre was really good as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, location and general comfort. The views were much better than we had expected.
Liked least: Would have preferred 2 reading/bed lights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACDs-Rbes...
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location with excellent view of mountains across the harbor. Walking distance to beach, museum and quaint downtown. The cabin is fully furnished with washer and dryer and full kitchen. Very clean, modern appliances. Carol the manager is very polite and eager to see that you enjoy your stay in Seward. She has provided binders in the cottage with places to eat, things to do, history, and instructions on how to operated all appliances. She has books and video's on Alaska present for review. We arrived with no more clean clothes so the washer/dryer was a life saver. Loved being able to cook some of our own meals. Rent it; you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for four adults.
Liked least: Figuring out all the remotes.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizette G
Névez, Bretagne, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best VRBO in Seward!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We originally planned to stay in Seward for two nights; however, once we arrived to find the Birdhouse to be so charming (and the perfect amount of space for 4 adults) that we decided to stay another night.

We reached out to the owner, Carol, and she kindly informed us it was no problem. In addition to ensuring we had a comfortable place to stay - with an amazing view of Resurrection Bay - Carol connected us with locals who shared our same interests.

Whether you want to walk around downtown, walk to the docks, participate in an all-day fishing expedition, or take a catamaran cruise to see marine life and the glaciers, the Birdhouse is perfectly located. Being that it was only a few blocks from the shore we would make a cup of coffee and walk to the shore each morning; which was divine.

The off-street parking and porch were also great perks.

If you're going to Seward, I highly recommend the Birdhouse. We can't wait to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The twin beds upstairs, but not bad at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michele M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic visit in Seward thanks to Carol and the Seward Birdhouse! Easy walk to town for shopping, 4th of July celebrations, Sea Life Center, close to the Bay and even a short walk to the boat harbor for our sightseeing and fishing days. We watched the 4th of July fireworks from the front porch! The house was lovely and fully furnished with everything you could think of, we were able to have coffee and cook meals, do laundry, and Carol even throws in popcorn for a bedtime snack! If we ever return to Seward, the Birdhouse will be our first choice!! Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanr47
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So comfy!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This little house is cute, cozy & comfy! Carol the owner has done a fantastic job providing all you could want to make it super easy to use all the amenities. The location is great and the views fantastic. Very enjoyable for four adults!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason A
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A practical location with nice view.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed three nights at this place. It is very clean and it has many amenities. 4 People can easily stay as long as they can share one bathroom. The place is very small but has everything that is needed for a comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy access to town
Liked least: small space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing