We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cozy home with a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Seward Birdhouse and famous Mount Marathon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seward Birdhouse and famous Mount Marathon
Mount Marathon and Race Point, site of world famous Mt Marathon Race Bald Eagle shingle art on front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Seward Birdhouse and famous Mount Marathon
Mount Marathon and Race Point, site of world famous Mt Marathon Race
Bald Eagle shingle art on front
East deck and flowers
Full kitchen
full kitchen with gas range, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster,  dishwasher
Cheery dining area with view of beautiful Mt Alice
Cheery dining area
comfy leather couch, host photography
free front loader washer and dryer
queen bed, room darkening curtains and shades, luggage racks, reading lamps
wrought-iron spiral stairs to loft
twin beds, room-darkening shades, reading lamps, rocking chair
desk, luggage racks, books and toys
twin beds and desk
business card
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Seward, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cathy w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cozy home with a great location”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was very clean and well stocked. It is small but worked out very well for the 3 of us. The location was very convenient for anything you might want to do in Seward. Carol was great in communicating and responding to our needs. All and all it was just perfect for our us and we would certainly stay again if we return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you so much, Cathy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargieWho...
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Sweet and Bright”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Loved this little house. Incredibly convenient. I highly recommend staying here. There's one high window that doesn't have a shade, so if you're going in high summer you might find it fairly bright at night to sleep in the loft. But don't despair! Fortunately, the ceiling in the loft is low, and we used thumb tacks to hang a sheet in front of the bed to block the light. Worked just fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Hi Margie,
Glad you figured out a solution. I just can't reach that high window, but put room-darkening shades on all the bedroom windows. The downstairs bedroom has room-darkening curtains as well. The summer sun is up early and lingers late in Alaska!
Best,
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G
Cicero, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seward Birdhouse The perfect place to stay in Seward”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at the Seward Birdhouse for three days in June 2017, and loved it.
The Seward Birdhouse is perfectly located right in town and a 2 minute drive to the boat docks, shopping and restaurants. Three of us stayed here and it was our home away from home, it has everything you need, very neat and clean and has a washer and dryer that came in handy. Also it was very quiet, and Carol the owner is very easy to work with, either by phone or e-mail. I got up early one morning and looked out the kitchen window and there was a cruise ship going by, yes the water is only a couple streets over. Mountains are all around, out the front, out the back. We loved our stayed at the Seward Birdhouse

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Hi Linda,
Thank you so much!
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eer1
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Space for Everyone”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After a week sharing hotel rooms with 8 and 11 year old grands, it was a joy for us all to have private space; the kids loved the loft. Very convenient location in Seward. Short taxi ride from the drop-off of both the Anchorage bus or train. The cottage is 2 blocks from the playground in the city park, 4 easy blocks from restaurants (Apollo was a great find) and the aquarium, and about 8 from the small boat harbor and more restaurants (Roys, more upscale dining) in this very walkable town. We stayed for 2 nights before a cruise so it was great that Carol provides a washer/dryer allowing us to board with all clean clothes - and she provided detergent. We only ate breakfast, and did not cook, but everything one would need to do so is there - plus, Carol provided coffee and tea with all the fixings. Birdhouse was a great find I highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thanks so much, Ellen! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeDavid...
Green River, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location In Seward! One Block Off the Main Street!”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second stay in the Birdhouse. And we hope to return again next year. For 3 or 4 people it's comfortable and couldn't be better located for enjoying the downtown restaurants, shops, and Sealife Center. The whole cottage is very clean and well kept up. The kitchen is fully stocked with whatever you need for cooking meals if that is your plan. The wi-fi connection is fast and reliable. The owner Carol is always available by phone or email. We really appreciated her allowing us to drop in early on arrival day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thanks, Mike! I look forward to your next visit!
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprillhwu
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Cozy Sweet Home”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family stayed in birdhouse for 3 nights. It's a cozy warm home made our Seward trip more enjoyable. The view from the house is wonderful! I like the different light from the windows.

The owner Carol is very responsive and sweet. She wrote emails beforehand making sure everything is taken cared of. I had stayed with many rental houses, often found lacking of shampoo, filter or cooking oil. You will find every needed things in birdhouse.

Will definitely choose birdhouse again next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thanks, April! My pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankm0ra...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful, quaint house close to downtown Seward.”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family and I stayed at the Seward Birdhouse in June 2017. It is a lovely house, fully furnished and very comfortable. It was a perfect stop for us in the middle of our two weeks of travels through Alaska. I highly recommend this house. Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thanks, Frank!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing