We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rainy day stop”
Review of Seward Museum

Seward Museum
Ranked #22 of 45 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great rainy day stop”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The day we drove to Seward from anchorage was raining but the drive is beautiful! The museum seemed the perfect place to go. It was VERY interesting. Great history and thing's to look thru. The staff are awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 503lyndac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Neat museum”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We just happened to get referred to this museum by the Seward Chamber. We were told that the Museum was celebrating it's 110th anniversary. We decided to stop by to check it out. The museum also had dignitaries visiting from their sister city in Japan for the celebration. The exhibits were very nice. We especially enjoyed the ones from Seward, NE (we are from Nebraska). The staff was very friendly also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A visit to the museum is good for a rainy afternoon... The movie about the 1964 tsunami was interesting, but keep in mind it is a documentary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank randrews30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting local facts”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

In addition to all the information on the devastating earthquake and tsunmai, there was a good amount of information on people who first came and settled in the area and their artifacts. We spent a good 45 minutes there without seeing the movie (we didn't have time to stay longer)
It is easy to walk to (directly across from Swan's Nest BB).
They have a beautiful flower garden to the south.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots of information”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Small museum packed with information on Seward and its history. It won't take you long to see and read everything but boy will you come away knowing a lot about a really great town. It is in the library so easy to find and accomodating hours. Low cost to get in. Displays are well done with some great donations for authentic Seward items. Really enjoyed this attraction,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank calgaryjetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seward Museum also viewed

 

Been to Seward Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing