We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crepe du Jour!!”
Review of Le Barn Appetit

Le Barn Appetit
Ranked #12 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crepe du Jour!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We finally talked ourselves into visiting for breakfast and now we wish we had gone every morning! The crepes are outstanding! I was talked into trying the Crepe du Jour which included reindeer sausage.... wasn't too sure about that! It was fantastic! The sausage was very flavorful and everyone loved it! The crepes are large enough for two to share and the host and hostess are friendly and funny! A French family was there as well, and she was beside herself with the crepes...said she has never had better and I believed her! A great experience all around!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TIna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    28
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go eat here!!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was an amazing experience and one of the best and most fun meals we had in 2 weeks in Alaska including on a great cruise. Get a mix of savory and sweet and listen to the advice for the chef. Warm, friendly, welcoming!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, charming and memorable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved this place and the wonderful owners. They're so friendly and fascinating and the dinner was awesome. We had the Southwest crepe with avocado, tomatoes, salsa and spinach, followed by an incredible strawberry-rhubarb puree-nutella crepe. Ivan whips them up as you watch (and tells jokes at the same time). Janet grows some of the ingredients in her garden, including the rhubarb!

The crepes are huge, so plan to share.

Also--you should make reservations. They don't often stay open later than 5p or so unless you have reserved dinner. It's a family run restaurant and B&B.

Vegetarian friendly (in a very non-vegetarian friendly kind of town).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome Crepes!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you like crepes you will love these. They are by far the biggest crepes Ive ever had. We had the banana/creme one. 2 of us shared it and it was plenty. The owner/crepe maker is down to earth old school fellow. He had some great stories.

If you're one of those people that like to drink wine with your pinky finger extended..dont bother coming here. The owner will send you packin in a hurry, and he'll probably let you know what he thinks of you. Thats the reason we enjoyed his company so much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank billythebulldog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Crepes”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This place was amazing. A variety of huge crepes to choose from, they were all cooked from scratch right before our eyes while the chef/owner revered up with tales of his past. We had one of their sweet crepes, it was Belgium Baked Apple, and it was phenomenal. They also offer savory crepes and the people that had one of those seemed to truly enjoy it as well. This is a great little quaint and cozy place and you can't go wrong eating here. We did not stay at their B&B, but it did look promising.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allg00dnamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Barn Appetit also viewed

 

Been to Le Barn Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing