We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Grand Home in Seward Alaska”
other travellers have booked this property
Bear Paw Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Paw Lodge
6-person hot tub on the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Bear Paw Lodge
6-person hot tub on the deck.
Welcome!
Mt. Alice, a stunning local peak, looms nearby.
The stairs to the second floor.
The living room.
Relax and unwind on the cozy couches...
Enjoy the warmth and ambiance of the gas fireplace.
The dining room.
The dining room / breakfast bar.
The large kitchen is great for preparing group meals!
The upstairs TV room / common area.
The master suite with two queen beds, a futon, and a private bath.
We have two 'queen' rooms.  They are both very similar.
The 'bunk' room has a twin-over-full bunk bed.
One of three full bathrooms.
We try to make good use of our greenhouse on the property!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Seward, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian N
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Grand Home in Seward Alaska”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a wonderful home away from home to have during our stay in Seward for the 3 couples sharing this spacious 4 bedroom log cabin. We partied in the hot tub, danced in front of the beautiful slate fireplace, and cooked fresh sockeye salmon on the gas grill during our stay. Wendy was always available to provide local information on sites, restaurants and other local happenings during our stay. This log cabin is the best so if you are planning to come to Seward book it now!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large & spacious for 3 couples and close to downtown
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! I'm so glad you took full advantage of the space and all the amenities! Sounds like a wonderful time! It was wonderful getting to know you all, and we definitely hope you'll be back one day! Many thanks, Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVtravele...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Exceptional lodging”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place had everything we needed and more. Clean and spacious. Loved the house, deck, and hot tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you'll come again!

Best, Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
1 review
“You could't find a better place and service.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed a total of three nights. (we had stayed three places on our journey). In making our travel plans, we anticipated that Bear Paw Lodge would be the grand finale, you know save the best for last, and it proved to be the best. It was clean, stocked with extras that they didn't have to provide; they went the extra mile. Cookies on the table; some food stocked, towels etc.; plentiful supplies. Plenty of room for our ten and could accommodate more. Lots of great extras. They checked on us to make sure everything was ok. And it sure was!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a great place with no complaints.
Liked least: Not a long enough vacation!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay, and it's wonderful to know that you felt the house was well-stocked. When we travel, it's so nice to arrive at a house that has coffee to brew, shampoo to use, etc... so we try to provide that for our guests. Anything we can do to make it feel more like home! It was a pleasure to meet you all and have you here.... and I hope you'll be back again one day! Many thanks, Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapol...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lodging in beautiful Seward”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I, along with three other couples, spent six nights at Bear Paw Lodge in Seward in July, 2016. We couldn't have been more pleased. The photos online are beautiful, but it was even better in person. This is a large, four bedroom log home (that's right - four real, enclosed bedrooms) with three full baths, a large, open kitchen and dining room, living room, family room, laundry room, and much more. The huge deck has a table, plenty of seating, and a large hot tub. The home is conveniently located a few minutes from downtown Seward, and a big Safeway grocery is nearby. It is on a large, wooded lot with plenty of privacy. There is even an outdoor fire circle, with seating and firewood. Thoughtfulness and attention to detail are everywhere, from the lovely decor, to the well equipped kitchen, to the abundance of towels and high quality toiletries in the bath, to the shoe racks to stash your tennis shoes and hiking boots. The owners live in a small cabin/garage on the property, and are more than willing to provide suggestions for exploring the area, yet are also very respectful of your privacy. Bear Paw Lodge is a great place for a group of friends or family to relax and enjoy their time together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big place with much attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review for us! I'm so glad the home treated your group so well, and that you enjoyed your stay. It was wonderful having you all here! We hope you'll be back again one day! Thank you! - Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mskirby
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great location in Seward”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you want beautiful, comfortable accommodations with a genuine Alaskan feel then Bear Paw Lodge is your place. There were eight adults in our group and we loved this place. It's convenient to trailheads, restaurants in Seward and Kenai Fjords National Park but without the busy clamor of the cruise ship crowd. The lodge has everything needed for a comfortable visit -- plus a hot tub and great trip advice from the owners. We highly recommend Bear Paw Lodge!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We're so happy you enjoyed our home, and we'd love to have you back again someday! Many thanks, Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RovingRob...
Oakland, California
3 reviews
“Beautiful Cabin, Gracious Hosts”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We couldn't have asked for more in both accommodations and hosts. Bear Paw Lodge is very close to Seward, but in many ways it feels like you're in the woods. The cabin is incredibly beautiful and well maintained, with so many nice touches throughout that I can't even begin to list them all. However, I can say that staying in such a solid, well constructed REAL log cabin that's so well cared for and that has such a unique history made it the highlight of our 17-day vacation in Alaska. And our hosts, Wendy and Dave, were such unassuming, natural and gracious people that our stay couldn't have been more pleasant. We'd definitely recommend Bear Paw Lodge to any friends who might want to visit Seward, and were we ever to return there's no question that we'd want to stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the solid, well-made cabin
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time in Seward, and at our lodge. It really was a pleasure having you guys here this summer, and we'd love to have you back! Many thanks, Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You will love it!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I think everyone's eyes widened when we pulled into the drive of Bear Paw Lodge. It is a gorgeous cabin/home. The inside was wonderful. We all walked around to inspect every inch of it. After the 9 of us claimed our rooms and settled in, we realized we should have stopped in town and purchased groceries before we came to the lodge. After getting there, no one wanted to leave! That being said, a few of us did go get groceries, and we all appreciated the big kitchen to fix a family dinner as well as breakfast the next morning. There is plenty of space to spread out, with two living areas, a big kitchen table, and THREE bathrooms. The home is clean, the beds are comfy, and it is quiet. We wished we could have spent more time there, but we spent most of the day on a boat cruise. I would highly recommend staying here. Beautiful home and friendly owners, who live right next to it and are available to help plan activities or questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not being confined to a small hotel room with one chair and having living areas to relax in with my family.
Liked least: Not having more time to spend there!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, and to make sure it appeared in the correct place! Sorry for confusion with that. We really loved meeting you all and having you here at our house, and I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll make it back this way again in the future! Many thanks, Wendy & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing