We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for what there is to see”

Alaska SeaLife Center
Ranked #3 of 48 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An education and research-focused aquarium offering underwater views of Alaskan marine animals.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey for what there is to see”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The captain of our day cruise recommended that we visit. I cannot say that it was bad. It was interesting. But it was expensive for what you get to see and experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    753
    209
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good rainy day activity”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I checked out this place while it was raining outside. Don't go in thinking it's a large aquarium, and you won't be disappointed. It did have fewer animals and fish than I thought it would, but what was there was nice to see and learn about. Our favorites were the sea lions and seals. I thought it was a little pricey for two people ($30) for what you get, so try to find discounts if they're available somewhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank deebeeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Amazing, worth a couple hours at least”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Sea Life Center is a wonderful combo aquarium + science center. Very accessible and can be done in 1-2 hours, well worth the time. Great for kids. TIP: "Behind the scenes" tour is not really worth the extra $ unless you would like to donate more to a worthy cause.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved. It.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spent 4 hours seeing up close what we had seen the day before on our boat tour of the Kenai Fjords National Park. What a wonderful facility. Good research being done there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackandjill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not so great”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

i may have just been spoiled from seaworld in orlando. i was hoping to see more fish tanks. it was mostly just educational plaques and some specimen tanks, and seals/sea lions and birds. some stuff was fun but i didn't feel it was worth the drive from anchorage

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alaska SeaLife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing