We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaska Saltwater Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seward(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Treasures Inn(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sauerdough Lodging(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
65
30
18
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
30
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslowell pointhuge deckboat tripgravel roadsea lifefull kitchenjimeaglesbayglaciercottage
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the SWL. I believe the photos pretty much some up what kind of experience we had. Similar to many posts we found our respite here relaxing to finish our vacation in Alaska. Yes, the drive to Lowell point is a couple of miles on a hard packed/gravel road, but we had some of our best memories travelling on such back roads. As we left there was a seal playing in the bay with a fish that it had caught. Probably teaching it's young one.

If you are not able to climb stairs there is a nice suite on the lower floor/deck. We also took the SLW Kenai Excursion and really enjoyed the tour with only 12 others. Beautiful way to finish seeing glaciers, whales (orcas, yes!!) wildlife. Kudos to Jim, Kathleen, Leif and Nate.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travlngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

This place has the best scenery in all of Seward. We stayed for 4 nights early June, and had the best time here. The room was their largest 2 bedroom suite with 1 1/2 bath and large kitchen and living area. One bedroom had a nice newer queen size bed and the other a regular full size. The ocean is your backyard and the eagles will wake you as they talk to one another. Seagulls fly in the bay, we also saw a sea lion and otters. The manager is so nice as well as the owner. We are so glad we stayed here instead of the city. It was like coming home to our little world. I would recommend this place to anyone. No TV or internet here. Also, laundry in Seward was expensive, $9.00 to wash. Do laundry in Anchorage if you can, as everything away from Anchorage is expensive. Breakfast was oatmeal, toast type breads, coffee & teas, and a fruit mix. We would defintely come back here. Thank you Saltwater Lodge for a great time!

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank dkoitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Had the most terrible experience at this lodge: the room was filthy, obviously not cleaned---dirty floors, skid marks in the toilet bowl!!! Disgusting! Some of the rooms hv terrific views of Resurrection Bay, but beware! Not all rooms do and you don't necessarily get what you ask for at time of booking. We were promised a room with a kitchenette, and upon arrival, was assigned to a viewless room without a kitchenette, akin to a converted garage. This switch-a-roo was apparently done to accommodate larger parties staying at the same time. The long drive to the lodge is seedy (def need a car); the lodge is outside of Seward, not within walking distance of the business district. The breakfast was equally dismal--basically balloon-bread toast or packaged oatmeal. Be aware of the boat cruises they offer--we had bad weather which forced the tour to end early and were not given refunds or any other accommodation. You pay for the whole day (expensive!) and they pocket the whole thing even though you're on the boat for 1/3 the time promised. Also we aware of cancellation fees in the fine print. We booked our stay for 2 nights, and upon arrival, they were willing to permit us to leave after 1 night, with no mention that we'd be charged a "cancellation fee". They led us to believe we would get a full refund for the second night but that was not the case. We stayed at four places during our Alaska trip and this was the only place that truly disappointed. Shame on the owners for not being honest. Certainly tarnished our opinion of the mom-and-pop operation. Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mooshwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews